SFC: Champions back to winning ways

July 28, 2018

Simonstown's Brían Conlon beats Alan Finnegan Seneschalstown to the ball during the Meath SFC game at Pairc Tailteann.

Simonstown Gaels 3-15 Seneschalstown GFC 2-06 

Simonstown Gaels played Seneschalstown yesterday in a crucial senior championship fixture.

Both teams lost round 2 fixtures and were looking to bounce back with a victory. Simonstown were missing Nathan O'Brien, Padraig McKeever and Sean Tobin but this gave other players an opportunity to play and shine.

The game began with an Andy Kearney point from play but this was quickly cancelled out by a point from Cathal Finnegan. Simonstown then registered 4 unanswered points through Andy Kearney, Joe Lyons and 2 frees from Ben Hoey. After 15 minutes Simonstown led 0-5 to 0-1 and looked well in control. However Seneschalstown always poised a goal threat and got themselves back into the game with a goal from the irrepressible Brian Sheridan. Simonstown responded with a goal and three points before half time. Mark 'Crouchy' McCabe got his trademark goal along with 2 Conor Sheridan points and a point from Brian Conlon. Half Time Simonsotwn 1-8 Seneschalstown 1-3.

Conor Sheridan kicked off an excellent second half display with 2 points in the first 5 minutes. The Navan men were awarded a penalty on the 36th minute mark and Mark McCabe stepped up and dispatched his effort past David Gordon in goals. Seneschalstown answered back with a goal from a quick free. The Simonstown back line was asleep and this was exploited by Seneschalstown. Just like the first half the Gaels responded with a goal of their own. Mark McCabe was alert and he intercepted a short kick out from David Gordon. Crouchy finished his ball expertly well in the bottom corner. Simonsotwn closed out the match with scores from Andy Kearney, Micky Brennan and Neil Kane. Next up in championship is Blackhall Gaels - date and time TBC. 

Simonstown: Robbie Burlingham, Shane Gallagher, Stephen Moran, Stephen O'Reilly, Brian McGrath, Mark Gardiner, Neil Kane (0-1), Brian Conlon (0-1), Rory O'Connor, Joe Lyons (0-1), Conor Sheridan (0-4), Mark McCabe (3-0), Eanna O'Donoughue, Ben Hoey (0-3 2frees), Andy Kearney (0-3). Subs - James Kilcullen for Rory O'Connor, Nicky O'Brien (0-1) for Eanna O'Donoughue, Shane Barry for Shane Gallagher, Micheal Breannan (0-1) for Conor Sheridan.

Seneschalstown scorers: Cathal Finnegan 1-02, Brian Sheridan 1-01, Joe Sheridan, Niall Lyons and Robbie Wogan 0-1 each

Seneschalstown: David Gordon, Mark Fox, Dylan Doyle, Brian Maguire, Niall McCabe, Joe Cowley, Niall Groome, Niall Hickey, Stephen Finnegan, Bryan Clarke, Joseph Sheridan, Dylan Keating, Cathal Finnegan, Brian Sheridan, Robert Wogan. Subs: James Meade for Robert Wogan, Alan Mulvany  for Joe Cowley, Niall Lyons for Bryan Clarke 

Most Read Stories