FL 1: Minimum margin win for Dunshaughlin

June 11, 2018

Dunshaughlin's Tommy Johnson

Dunshaughlin boosted their FL Division 1 survival chances when digging out a narrow win at Navan O'Mahonys.

Dunshaughlin  ....... 1-8
O'Mahonys .......... 0-10

Points from Tadhg O Dushlaine and Cian Gallogly in the latter stages cushioned the visitors against O'Mahonys' late rally that yielded a point from sub David Bray. 

The win moves Dunshaughlin to within a point of O'Mahonys in the table. The economical visitors were good value for their third win of the campaign. 

O'Mahonys were left to rue six second-half wides, ten overall. However, some of the misses were down to good defending by the visitors. 

A feature of the fixture was the quality of defending on both sides. 

Dunshaughlin led for most of the way, apart from seven third quarter minutes. Tommy Johnson's 12th minute goal left them 1-3 to 0-1 ahead. 

O'Mahonys bossed the second quarter outscoring Anthony Moyles' by 0-6 to 0-1. Darragh Maguire's point - with assistance from Ross Geraghty and Robbie Keeleghan - left it level, 0-7 to 1-4 at the break. 

Kevin Reilly's charges led for the only time when Shane Gillespie pointed within two minutes of resumption. The scoring rate dropped thereafter while the scores were tied on two further occasions. 

It was 0-8 to 1-5 in the 42nd minute when Dunshaughlin 'keeper Andrew Smith did very well to keep out Dylan Regan's low shot.

Stephen Bray's 55th minute free tied the scores for the third and final time. Dunshaughlin's positive response was rewarded. 

In round 11, O'Mahonys travel to Dunboyne while Dunshaughlin host Moynalvey 

O'Mahonys - Marcas Brennan; James O'Malley, Shane Crosby, Evan Power; John Rogers, Gary O'Brien, Ross Geraghty; Evan Coffey (0-1), Conor Finnegan; Daragh Maguire (0-1), Stephen Bray (0-2, 1f), Dylan Regan (0-1 f); Shane Gillespie (0-2), Robbie Keeleghan (0-2), Cathal Smyth. Subs - David Dillon for Finnegan (41), David Bray (0-1) for D Regan (44), Henry Finnegan for Keeleghan (44), Jake Regan for S Bray (53). 

Dunshaughlin -Andrew Smith; Alastair Doyle , Niall Murphy, Eric Casserly; David Dunne, Caoimhin King, Ray Maloney; Ronan Geraghty, John Crimmins; Tommy Johnson (1-0), Tadhg O Dushlaine (0-5, 2fs), Fergus Toolan; Cian Gallogly (0-2), Ben Duggan, Tommy Kinsella (0-1 f). Subs - Adam Kealy for Duggan (37), Shane Gallogly for C Gallogly (50) 

Referee - Colm McManus (Gaeil Colmcille)

Most Read Stories