HL Div 1: Honours even in Dunboyne

May 14, 2018

Dunboyne's Darragh Gilmartin and Podge Hanrahan Ratoath

Ratoath 1-16 St Peter's Dunboyne 1-16

Ratoath and Dunboyne played out a hard fought draw on this cool Saturday evening in Dunboyne.

This was a game which ebbed and flowed with both sides swopping the lead over the course of the hour and it was Dunboyne who made the brighter start leading 6 points to 3 after 12 minutes. Ratoath rallied with points from Cian Rogers, Sean O'Hanrahan and Padraig O'Hanrahan - the latter from placed balls to lead 7 to 6 with less than 10 minutes to go. Although the home side levelled again soon after Ratoath responded with a goal from Cian Rogers after good work from Sean O'Hanrahan. Rogers tagged on another couple of points as his side went in 2 points up at the break with the half time score reading 1-9 to 0-10

The second half began with Dunboyne on the front front and the perfect start with a goal from a 21 metre free. They had the better of the next 15 minutes but were still only 2 points ahead mainly due to the excellent shooting from Padraig" Podge" O'Hanrahan from frees as well as from a sideline ball. Ratoath's defence was also steady in repelling many Dunboyne attacks.The game could have gone either way with Dunboyne going a point ahead with 5 minutes to go only for David O'Reilly's charges to get the next 2 scores through Podge and Rogers. Dunboyne though has the final say raising the last white flag of the day and ensure honours were even. Overall a fair result in an exciting  game of hurling for which both sides deserve credit

Foireann Ráth Tó : Gearoid Crowley, Paddy Dowd, Cormac Butler, Brian Kiernan, Niall McLarnon, Brian Murphy, Conor Ward, Jack McGowan, Sean Keogh, Sean O'Hanrahan (0-1), Padraig O'Hanrahan (0-10, 8 frees, 1 play, 1 sideline cut) , Daithi McGowan (0-1), Cian Rogers (1-3), Ben McGowan, Tadhg McCann Subs : Conleth McLarnon, Tom Fadden (0-1), Sean Johnson

Dunboyne: S Clince, F O Neill, N Watters, J Gilmartin, C O Shea, S McGrath 0-1, E Ryan 0-1, A Watters 0-1, G Murphy 0-2, S Moran 0-1, J Watters 0-1, N Smyth, C Gilmartin, M Dunne 1-1 and D Gilmartin 0-8: Subs J Delaney for C O Shea (injured), P Doherty for C Gilmartin and K Doyle J Gilmartin 

Referee: Martin Barrett

Most Read Stories