Club HC draws 2018: Kiltale open against Dunboyne

March 05, 2018

Kiltale are chasing a 5 in a row of Jubilee Cup titles. O'Mahonys are the current holders of the Mick Leonard Cup (IHC)

The new look Meath club hurling championship draws took place this evening.

Kiltale, who are looking for a five-in-a-row, start against Dunboyne. Five successive titles hasn't been achieved since 1947 when Kilmessan claimed the fifth of what was to become a six-in-a-row.

The new format for the Meath SHC which was approved in January came into operation tonight.

Instead of two groups picked at random as in previous years, the two groups are seeded with Group A including the six teams that made last year's knockout stages - Kiltale, Kilmessan, Kildalkey, Killyon, Dunboyne Ratoath.

From this group the top two teams qualify for the semi-finals and the third and fourth will contest the quarter-finals. The bottom team in Group A moves down to Group B in 2019 and the team at the top of Group B moves up.

Group B comprises the five teams who didn't qualify for the knockout stages plus the 2017 IHC winners - Trim, Blackhall, Boardsmill, Longwood, Dunderry and Navan O'Mahony's. The top two from this group will qualify for the quarter-finals with the bottom team relegated to the IHC.


Group A:

Kilmessan v Kildalkey

Kiltale v Dunboyne

Ratoath v Killyon

Group B:

Dunderry v Blackhall Gaels

Trim v Longwood

Boardsmill v O'Mahony's


Group A:

Wolfe Tones v Kilskyre Moylagh

Rathmoylon v Gaeil Colmcille

O'Mahonys v Na Fianna

Group B:

Kiltale v Donaghmore Ashbourne

Kilmessan v Kildakey

Drumree v Clann na Gael

JHC (and JHC 2)

Group A:

Trim v Kildalkey

Ratoath v Kilskyre Moylagh

St Patrick's v Na Fianna

Wolfe Tones a bye

Group B:

Kiltale v Killyon

Dunboyne v Clann na nGael

Rathmoylon v Boardsmill

Drumree a bye

Note: top two in each group go to JHC semi-finals; third and fourth in each group contest JHC 2 semi-finals.

Most Read Stories