New hurling championship format given the green light

January 08, 2018

Kiltale's name goes on the Jubilee Cup for the 4th year in a row

The motion to alter the format of the Meath SHC was passed at tonight's Adjourned County Convention.

Instead of two groups picked at random as in previous years, the two groups are seeded with Group A including the six teams that made last year's knockout stages - Kiltale, Kilmessan, Kildalkey, Killyon, Dunboyne Ratoath.

From this group the top two teams qualify for the semi-finals and the third and fourth will contest the quarter-finals. The bottom team in Group A moves down to Group B in 2019 and the team at the top of Group B moves up.

Group B comprises the five teams who didn't qualify for the knockout stages plus the 2017 IHC winners -Trim, Blackhall, Boardsmill, Longwood, Dunderry and  Navan O'Mahony's. The top two from this group will qualify for the quarter-finals with the bottom team relegated to the IHC.

Most Read Stories