Awards: Intermediate Club Footballer of the Year

December 27, 2017

Celebration time for Curraha

Curraha completed a memorable year when beating St Michaels in what turned out to be a one sided final. The 'Ha' completed a remarkable rise from junior to senior in the space of three years. 

One of the favourites Ballinlough fell at the quarter final stages while Oldcastle, Nobber and Kilmainham will be happy with their progress made throughout the year. 

Paddy Gilsenan and Ger Reidy (Oldcastle), Mickey Newman (Kilmainham), Damien Carroll (Ballinabrackey), James McEntee, David Toner, Liam Hogan (Curraha), the St Michaels midfield pairing of Felim O'Reilly and Peter O'Connell all enjoyed a tremendous year but we have narrowed down to three main contenders.

Niall Murphy Curraha: Outstanding in the number 3 jersey. Time and again came to the Mattie McDonnell Cup winners rescue as the 'Ha' reached the top rung in Meath club football. 

Ciaran Lynch St Michaels: A delight to watch throughout the championship. The talented centre forward kicked some amazing scores and his impressive tallies were one of the reasons why the Carlanstown/Kilbeg outfit reached the decider.

But our award goes to Conor Moriarty. The Curraha attacker has a big future ahead of him. The go to man for scores and very accurate from frees. The 19 year old terrorised defences throughout the campaign and it will be interesting to see how senior club defenders cope with this very exciting prospect.

Well done Conor.

Most Read Stories