Awards: Under 17 County Footballer of the Year

December 23, 2017

Meath celebrate their U17 Leinster final win over Dublin at Drogheda

The very first Meath Under 17 squad gave Royal supporters plenty to cheer about in 2017. 

A memorable opening round win over Dublin at  Pairc Tailteann, remember that night the on loan scoreboard was first seen, along with wins over Carlow and Kildare put the young Royals in the Leinster final. Once again Dublin stood in the way and once again Meath were winners this time on a 3-12 to 1-13 scoreline at Drogheda. Eventual All-Ireland winners Tyrone were too strong in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Manager Ronan Kearns had some outstanding performers throughout the campaign. Sean Bannon, Cian McBride, team captain Liam Byrne, Shane Walsh, Colm Doherty and Matthew Costello turned in fine performances in every game but our Under 17 County Footballer of the Year goes to Jordan Morris.

His ability to win possession and create and get scores,1-6 against Dublin in the opening round, 0-8 against Carlow at Pairc Tailteann, 0-3 against Kildare in the semi-final and 1-3 in the Leinster decider made him the standout player during the Leinster campaign.

Well done Jordan

Most Read Stories