Awards: Junior Club Footballer of the Year

December 20, 2017

The JFC winners take home the Peter McDermott Cup

Junior Club Footballer of the Year

Meath Hill ended years of frustration when Chris Yorke raised the Peter McDermott Cup at Pairc Tailteann. The Davy Cahill managed outfit defeated a gallant Moylagh in the county final at a wet Pairc Tailteann. The 'Hills' only loss during the campaign was to Cortown.

Dermot Magee (Carnaross), Adam Flanagan (Clonard), Ryan Owens, Kieran Slavin, James Mooney and Ian Malone Meath Hill, Darren Gibney, Joe Melia, and Tommy O'Reilly (Moylagh) can all be happy with their championship performances. Our top three are

Jason Yorke Meath Hill: Ran the show from the middle of the park for the eventual champions hitting some crucial scores on the way. Outstanding work rate and very comfortable in possession.

Tommy Rooney Meath Hill: The type of player thats a managers dream. Can play in most positions on the field. Started in the full forward line in the county final, got the crucial gaol and then switched out to mid field to make sure there was no Moylagh fightback.

Our Club Footballer of the Year is Moylagh's Sean Reilly. Almost single handedly won the title for the Mickey Rennicks managed outfit. An all round outstanding footballer. Meath Hill knew of his threat in the final and most of the time there were two if not three defenders in close proximity every time Reilly gained possession. A county U21 this year and only a matter of time before he pulls on the senior county jersey.

Congratulations Sean

Most Read Stories