Awards: Senior Club Hurler of the Year

December 19, 2017

Kiltale pause for the National Anthem bore the start of the SHC final against Kildalkey

It was a case of same old, same old in the Meath senior hurling championship as Kiltale won their fourth consecutive title.

They were pushed all the way by a rejuvenated Kildalkey side, while last year's finalists Killyon failed to build on that and were eliminated at quarterfinal stage.

There were some excellent performances throughout the campaign with the likes of Ratoath's Darren Kelly, Kilmessan's Darren Reilly, Sean Quigley (Dunboyne), Conor Kearney (Kildalkey) and Mark Sullivan Kiltale all producing high quality displays, but our three contenders are as follows:

Podge Geoghegan (Kildalkey): Seemed to thrive on the captain's role, marshalling the Village's defence, often in a sweeper role where his reading of the game was second to none and certainly played a massive part in guiding the club back to the county final.

Conor Shirren (Kiltale): Played his first full year in the side and looked like a veteran of ten years in the wing back slot. Strong and athletic, a real player of the future for the defending champions.

Our award goes to James Kelly (Kiltale): Simply outstanding all year whether it be at wing forward or centre back when he deputised for Stephen Donoghue. His display in the county final will be long remembered by those present.

Well done James

Most Read Stories