U19 FL Div 2 final: Second-half surge secures title for O'Mahonys

July 14, 2017

Making the most of wind advantage, O'Mahonys pulled clear of Wolfe Tones in the Under 19 FL Division 2 final at Pairc Tailteann on Thursday evening.

O'Mahonys ...... 3-12
Wolfe Tones ...... 1-9

Colm Kane's charges outscored the 'Tones by 2-10 to 1-3 in the second-half when playing towards their neighbouring clubhouse.

Yet, just a goal separated the sides with 50 minutes gone before O'Mahonys closed in on the silverware when adding 1-4 for loss of one point.

The outcome meant O'Mahonys finished the competition with a 100% win record and had eight different scorers on the night including two subs.

Midfielder Aodhan Mallon capped an impressive showing with five second-half points from play and teamed up well with Evan Coffey.

Neil Murray Wolfe Tones with Craig Munnelly O'Toole O'Mahonys

Wolfe Tones led by 0-6 to 1-2 at the break. They might have led by a greater margin but for Aaron Byrne's save with an outstretched leg from Caolan Ward's goal attempt with half-time beckoning.

Saran O Fionnagain - who along with Ward was one of Wolfe Tones' more impressive performers on the night - sent the subsequent 45 wide. It was the eighth wide of the opening half for Kilberry-Wilkinstown-Baile Ghib side.

O'Mahonys had three wides in the opening 30 minutes and added five more when wind-assisted.

Alan Lynam Wolfe Tones with Niall Kearney O'Mahonys

The first of Mallon's points (with assistance from an upright) levelled matters within three minutes of resumption. Craig Munnelly-Toole regained the lead for O'Mahonys in the 36th. They remained ahead to the end.

O'Mahonys' second goal arrived in the 39th minute when Sean Walsh finished brilliantly. Munnelly-O'Toole added a free and suddenly the Brews Hill side were five clear.

Wolfe Tones staged a mini-revival towards the end of the third quarter with Thomas Blayney (free) and fine solo effort from Ward. O'Mahonys' reply was a hat-trick of points from Mallon to leave it 2-8 to 0-8 after 49 minutes.

Wolfe Tones weren't finished yet. Nathan Sheridan provided the assist for team captain Alan Lynam to net and leave just a goal between the sides. O'Mahonys' reposte was two points in the 52nd minute from Mallon (with support from sub Tommy Carroll) and another replacement Paul Cunningham.

Conor Brady O'Mahonys with Aaron Tolan Wolfe Tones

O'Mahonys added 1-2 without reply in the latter stages with Cunningham capping his cameo with fine goal. Carroll and Mallon provided assistance.

The first-half yielded just nine scores with Ronan Clarke netting O'Mahonys' opening goal inside the first minute. It countered Blayney first point and sustained the eventual winners through the first half.

Wolfe Tones led once more in the first-half, Cian O'Neill's 20th minute effort that earned his side a narrow interval lead that ultimately wasn't enough to sustain their bid for honours.

O'Mahonys captain Darren Reilly raises the U19 Division 2 Cup at Pairc Tailteann

Scorers: Navan O'Mahonys - Aodhan Mallon 0-5, Paul Cunningham 1-1, Craig Munnelly-O'Brien 0-3 (1f), Sean Walsh,  Ronan Clarke 1-0 each; Conor Brennan, Niall Kearney, Aaron Coyle 0-1 each.

Wolfe Tones - Thomas Blayney 0-3 (1f), Caolan Ward 0-1, Rowhan Murray 0-1, Cian O'Neill 0-1, Rioghan MacGinnertai 0-1, Nathan Sheridan 0-1, Saran O Fionnagain 0-1

O'Mahonys - Aaron Byrne; Gerard Dillon, Darren Reilly, Shane Doherty; Stefan Dineen, Eimhin Power, Conor Brady; Evan Coffey, Aodhan Mallon; Conor Brennan, Adam McEvoy, Niall Kearney; Ronan Clarke, Craig Munnelly O'Toole, Sean Walsh. Subs - Brian O'Hanlon for Clarke (35), Tommy Carroll for McEvoy (41), Paul Cunningham for Walsh (50), Aaron Coyle for Munnelly-O'Toole (60).

Wolfe Tones - Laochra O Fionnagain; Gearoid O'Brien, Neil Murray, Oisin MacGinneartai; Iarlaith O'Kelly-Lynch, Caolan Ward, Alan Lynam (C); Cian O'Neill, Rioghan MacGinnertai (0-1); Thomas Blaney (0-2), Nathan Sheridan, Aaron Tolan; Rowhan Murray, Saran O Fionnagain (0-1), Mark McFadden. Subs - Tom Gavigan for O'Kelly-Lynch (ht), Jake McFadden for O'Brien (43), Ben Lowe for Tolan (52), Conall O Fearraigh for R MacGinnertai (54), Dan Foley for Murray (60)

Referee - Des Smyth (St Ultan's)

Most Read Stories