Corn Na Boinne: Kilmainham exit

January 30, 2017

Nobber 1-11 Kilmainham 0-9

Kilmainham came up short against Nobber in the preliminary round of the Corn na Boinne played under lights in Nobber.

Before the game started there was a minutes silence for Emma and Daniel O'Keeffe and Tommy Morgan (founder of Kilmainham GFC, former selector, Chairman, President and grandfather of present day players Darren, Gerard and Shane Morgan.

The game was only six minutes old when Barry Lynch put in to his own net. Nobber went in at the break 1-7 to 0-4 in front.

Under the watchful eye of new manager Gary Farrelly Kilmainham faired better in the second half but could not narrow the gap and Nobber went on to win by five points.

Kilmainham: Trevor Lynch, Joe mahon, Richie Brady, Darren O'Sullivan, Paul Farrelly, Denis Newman, Harry Newman 0-1, Barry Lynch, Conor Kilgallen, Paddy Hennigan 0-1, Freddie Newman 0-3, Seanie Mahon, Shane Morgan 0-2, Darren King, Gerard Morgan 0-2. Subs: Fergal Black, Colm McGivern, Dean Peppard.

Nobber scorers: Dale Larkin 0-8, Darren Lambe 0-1, Dean Curtis 0-1 Fiachra McEntee 0-1, Barry Lynch 1-0 og

Nobber: D Hutchinson, P Weldon, P Meade, B Cassidy, E Fagan, R Shields, B Heffernan, A Farrell, S O Brien, D Halpin, D Shields, R Hughes, D Larkin, F McEntee, D Lambe. Subs: J Condra for Fagan, A Shields for Lambe

Referee Ciaran Flynn

Most Read Stories