FL1: Mayo make it three from three

February 09, 2019

Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor with Cavan's Martin Reilly and Jack Brady. ©INPHO/Evan Logan.

Mayo maintained their 100% record as they beat Cavan by 1-13 to 0-11 at Castlebar.

Evan Regan fisted the only goal of the game on the stroke of half time to give the hosts a narrow 1-7 to 0-7 interval advantage. The visitors had started brightest as points from Dara McVeety, Jack Brady (two frees) and goalkeeper Raymond Galligan (free) had them ahead by 0-4 to 0-1 inside ten minutes but the winners drew level by the midway stage in the first half, Andy Moran fisting his second before Fionn McDonagh and Jason Doherty (free) struck.

Niall Murray and Regan traded points but the home side moved into a lead they would not relinquish when the excellent Aidan O’Shea pointed from a mark eleven minutes from the break, Doherty adding a pointed free. Wing back Conor Rehill pointed either side of Regan’s goal as Mickey Graham’s charges stayed within three at the short whistle.

Doherty and Lee Keegan posted the first two points after the restart but the visitors hit back through Cian Mackey and McVeety. Substitutes Donal Vaughan and Brian Reape ensured that the points remained out of Cavan’s reach as the Breffni County – who had Stephen Murray dismissed for a second yellow card ten minutes from the end - lost from a winning position for the third weekend running.

Mayo - D Clarke; S Coen, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; L Keegan (0-1), M Plunkett, P Durcan; D O’Connor (0-1), M Ruane; F McDonagh (0-1), A O’Shea (0-1m), J Doherty (0-3f); E Regan (1-2, 0-2f), A Moran (0-2, 1m), C Moran. Subs: B Reape (0-1) for C Moran, D Vaughan (0-1) for M Ruane, K McLoughlin for F McDonagh, J McCormack for S Coen, C Treacy for A Moran.

Cavan - R Galligan (0-1f); J McLoughlin, P Faulkner, K Clarke; C Rehill (0-2), D McVeety (0-2), C Brady; P Graham, T Galligan; M Reilly (0-1f), J Brady (0-3f), N Murray (0-1); S Murray, C Madden, C Mackey. Subs: C Moynagh (0-1) for T Galligan, P Smith for N Murray, N Clerkin for C Mackey, N McKiernan for C Madden, O Pierson for J Brady.

Referee - A Nolan.

Most Read Stories