HL2A round-up: Antrim leave it late while Westmeath pip Kerry

February 03, 2019

Meath's Shane Brennan with Keelan Molloy Antrim during the NHL Div 2 A game at Lomans Park Trim

There were away wins for Antrim and Westmeath in today’s Allianz HL Division 2A action.

James McNaughton popped up with a stoppage time winner for the Saffrons against Meath in Trim.

It finished 3-13 to 2-15 in favour of the visitors.

Meanwhile, late points from Killian Doyle and Cormac Boyle capped off a comeback by the Lake County against Kerry.

Joe Quaid’s men overturned a 1-6 to 0-11 half-time deficit to run out 4-13 to 2-17 winners.

Shane Clavin, Derek McNicholas, Cormac Boyle and Robbie Greville raised green flags for the winners.

The Mayo versus London fixture was called off due to a frozen pitch in Ruislip.

HL2A results:

At Trim
Antrim 3-13
Meath 2-15

At Austin Stack Park
Westmeath 4-13
Kerry 2-17

Antrim - R Elliott; S Rooney, J Dillon, P Duffin; R Molloy, M Donnelly (0-1), C McHugh; S Duffin, C Boyd; N Elliott (0-1), C McCann, J McNaughton (1-8, 0-5f, 0-1'65); E O'Neill (1-2), K Molloy, C Clarke (1-1). Subs: D McKinley for S Duffin, C Patterson for C Boyd.

Meath - S McGann; G Murphy, S Brennan, S Morris; K Keoghan, S Whitty, J Kelly; P O'Hanrahan (0-6, 4f, 1'65), S Quigley; D Healy (1-0), J Regan (1-4, 1-0f), D Kelly (0-3); A Douglas, M O'Grady (0-1), K Keena (0-1). Subs: E O Donnchadha for M O'Grady, J McGowan for S Quigley.

Referee - S Ryan.


Westmeath - P Carroll; D Egerton, T Doyle, G Greville; J Bermingham, A Clarke, C Shaw; R Greville (1-1), S Clavin (1-0); J Gilligan, A Devine (0-2), N Mitchell (0-5f); K Doyle (0-2), D Clinton (0-1), J Galvin. Subs: P Greville (0-1f) for J Bermingham, A Craig for C Shaw, C Boyle (1-1) for S Clavin, D McNicholas (1-0) for J Galvin.

Kerry - M Stackpoole; J Buckley, B Murphy, E Leen; J Diggins, M Boyle (1-0), F MacKessy; T O'Connor, P Costello; M O'Leary (0-1), D Griffin (0-1), P Boyle (0-3); J Conway, S Conway (1-10, 0-10f), J Goulding (0-2). Subs: B Barrett for D Griffin, M Leane for B Barrett, M Slattery for J Conway, S Weir for T O'Connor, N O'Mahony for E Leen.

Referee - R McGann.

Most Read Stories