Team news: Horan picks four debutants for first game back as Mayo boss

January 04, 2019

Mayo manager James Horan. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Mayo boss James Horan has picked four debutants in his starting 15 to take on Leitrim in Sunday's Connacht SFL clash at Carrick-on-Shannon.

In what will be Horan's first game in charge of the county's senior footballers since returning for a second stint last October, newcomers James McCormack, Fionn McDonagh, Colm Moran and Brian Reape have all been handed a chance to impress in the season opener.

Claremorris star McCormack starts at centre-back flanked by the experienced duo of Lee Keegan and Donal Vaughan, with McDonagh, Moran (both Westport) and Reape (Bohola Moy Davitts) taking places in attack.

Cillian O'Connor, who recently underwent knee surgery, is joined on the injury-list by Cian Hanley, Ryan O'Donoghue and Tom Parsons. Burrishoole clubman Jason Doherty will deputise as captain.

Mayo (Connacht SFL v Leitrim): Rob Hennelly; Eoin O'Donoghue, Ger Cafferkey, Brendan Harrison; Lee Keegan, James McCormack, Donal Vaughan; Seamus O'Shea, Stephen Coen; Fionn McDonagh, Jason Doherty, Fergal Boland; Colm Moran, Brian Reape, Evan Regan.

Most Read Stories