Colleges: Holy Trinity lift Paddy Drummond Cup for first time

April 07, 2018

St Nathy's Kuba Callaghan and Kyran Robinson of Holy Trinity.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Holy Trinity College, Cookstown 0-19

St. Nathy's, Ballaghadereen 1-6

Holy Trinity, Cookstown have been crowned All-Ireland Post Primary School senior 'B' football champions for the first time following an emphatic victory over St Nathy's, Ballaghadereen at Croke Park.

The well-drilled Tyrone school were dominant throughout, taking a 0-9 to 0-2 lead into the interval and extending their advantage in the second half before Kuba Callaghan scored a late consolation goal for their Roscommon / Mayo opponents.

Holy Trinity captain Shane Murphy lifts the Paddy Drummond Cup. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

The winners, whose management included Tyrone legend Peter Canavan, hit the ground running with points from Eunan Devlin, Mark Devlin, Tiernan Quinn, Tiernan Mackle and Shane Murphy helping them to a comfortable half-time lead.

Further scores from Quinn, Murphy and Mark Devlin extended their advantage after the restart before Kuba Callaghan and Oisin Philips replied for St. Nathy's. Callaghan raised the game's only green flag in the closing stages, but it was a case of too little, too late for the Westerners who had to wait until the 28th minute for their opening score from a Jamie O'Hara free.

Holy Trinity College, Cookstown - C Loane; P Quinn, T Quinn, T McNamee; O Mulgrew, C Donnelly, M McKearney; E Gallagher (0-1), P Lagan; K Robinson, E Devlin (0-1), S Murphy (0-3, 1'45); T Quinn (0-8, 6f), T Mackle (0-1), M Devlin (0-5, 3f). Subs: C Quinn for E Devlin, A Moore for T Mackle, M Finan for O Hester, S McKenna for P Quinn, D Canavan for K Robinson, T Mackle for C Donnelly.

St. Nathy's, Ballaghadereen - A Davey; M Dillon, D Casey, B O'Hanlon; S O'Hara, J Lunt, B Molloy (0-1); D McBrien, J Doory; O Hester, J O'Hara (0-2f), L Connor; O Phillips (0-1f), K Phillips, K Callaghan (1-2, 0-2f). Subs: L Hester for M Dillon, M Coyle for J O'Hara, A Dillon for K Phillips, C Groarke for S O'Hara.

Referee - J Bermingham.

Most Read Stories