Mayo SFC draw: Champions Castlebar to face Ballaghaderreen

February 08, 2018

Castlebar Mitchels' Paddy Durcan with Alan Dillon of Ballintubber.
©INPHO/Tommy Grealy.

Last night's draw for the Mayo senior football championship paired defending champions Castlebar Mitchels against 2012 winners Ballaghaderreen.

The two heavyweights enter Group 1 alongside 2007 champions Ballina Stephenites and Aghamore, while James Horan's Westport side are in Group 3 with 2001 All-Ireland winners Crossmolina. 

In Group 4, the O'Connors and O'Sheas are set to battle it out with Ballintubber facing Breaffy in Ballintubber in Round 2.

The draw in full is as follows:

Group 1: Castlebar Mitchels, Ballina Stephenites, Ballaghaderreen, Aghamore

Group 2: Garrymore, Knockmore, Charlestown, Moy Davitts

Group 3: Claremorris, Hollymount-Carramore, Crossmolina, Westport

Group 4: Ballintubber, Breaffy, Kiltane, Davitts

Most Read Stories