HL2B roundup

January 28, 2018

Down, Wicklow and Mayo all opened their Allianz HL Division 2B campaign with victories.

Down, Wicklow and Mayo have got their Allianz Hurling League Division 2B campaigns off to winning starts.

In Celtic Park, Derry started brightly but faded after Down struck for the opening goal in the 22nd minute. The visitors went on to lead by 1-9 to 0-8 at the interval and eventually prevailed on a 2-17 to 1-14 scoreline.

Derry will make the short journey to Letterkenny next weekend to take on neighbours Donegal, who were also beaten by Mayo in Ballina today. With dual star Keith Higgins on song from frees, Derek Walsh's men were always in control. They led by 1-11 to 1-1 at half-time and were 2-16 to 1-9 in front at the final whistle.

Meanwhile, Wicklow dished out a 4-20 to 1-12 drubbing to Armagh in the other Division 2B game in Bray.

Down - S Keith; B Byers, C Teggart, M Hughes; J McManus, M Fisher, L Savage; C Bailie, D Toner (2-2); R Branagan (0-1), D McManus (0-4), P Og McCrickard; M Magee, P Sheehan (0-10, 8f), E Sands. Subs: M Conlan for R Branagan, A O'Prey for E Sands, O McManus for D Toner.

Derry - M Kirkpatrick (0-1f); C Murphy, D McCloskey, E Gilmore; P Cleary, C Steele, J Phelan; J Mullan, N Smyth (0-1); A Grant (0-10, 9f), O McCloskey (0-2), T Magee; D Cartin, N Waldron, O McKeever. Subs: A O'Donnell for O McKeever, B Quigley (1-0) for D Cartin, S Higgins for N Smyth.

Referee - S Hynes.


Wicklow - R Fitzgerald; M O'Brien, B Cuddihy, E Byrne; G Byrne, W Kavanagh (0-2), J Henderson; S Kelly (0-1), J Connors (0-1); P Doyle, A Byrne (2-3), S Germaine (0-1); E McCormack, A O'Brien (2-7, 1-0pen, 0-5f), G O'Brien (0-3). Subs: M Verney for M O'Brien, D Staunton (0-2) for E McCormack, J Byrne for P Doyle, C Moorehouse Jr for J Connors, G Connors for G O'Brien.

Armagh - S Doherty; C Clifford, A McGuinness, C Rice; C Laverty (0-1), S Renaghan, G McKeown; O McCann, B Short; P McGrane, N Green (0-1), E McGuinness (0-1); D McGee, D McKenna (1-0), C McAnallen (0-8, 7f). Subs: D McCreesh for P McGrane, P Quinn for D McKenna, D Grant (0-1) for C McAnallen.

Referee - T Walsh.


Mayo - D O'Brien; A Brennan, C Daly, B Hunt; M Morley, E McLoughlin, C Freeman (0-1); D Kenny (0-1), J Cotter; S Regan (1-2), K Feeney (1-2, 0-1f), K McDermott (0-1); S Boland (0-4, 3f), K Higgins (0-4, 1f), S Mulroy. Subs: D McTigue for S Mulroy, P Kiely (0-1) for J Cotter, C Henry for K McDermott, T Sweeney for M Morley, J Coyne for S Boland.

Donegal - P Burns; D Grant, C McDermott, G Browne; P Doherty, J Donnelly, C Mathewson; J Boyle, S Gillespie; L Henderson (0-8, 7f, 1'65), C Finn, G Gilmore; D Cullen (0-1), R McDermott, D Flynn (1-0). Subs: S Doherty for C Finn, N Cleary for D Grant, K Campbell for S Gillespie, D Lafferty for P Burns.

Referee - G Quilty.

Most Read Stories