FBD League final: Mayo beat Tribe again

February 21, 2010
Mayo repeated their recent National League victory over Galway when they relieved the Tribesmen of their FBD Connacht League title following a hard-fought final at Castlebar yesterday.

Mayo 0-12
Galway 0-9

Mayo's first success in the subsidiary competition was secured courtesy of four points in the last 10 minutes from Ronan McGarrity, Chris Barrett, Enda Varley and Seamus O'Shea.

Despite being understrength, Joe Kernan's Galway gave a much better account of themselves than they did in the recent league meeting between the counties at the same venue. Fielding more regulars, Mayo opened brightly and led by 0-4 to 0-1 after 10 minutes thanks to points from McGarrity, Enda Varley (two) and Peadar Gardiner. But Galway had the margin down to two, 0-6 to 0-4, at half-time thanks to scores from Eoin Concannon, Barry Cullinane and Cillian de Paor.

The home side extended their lead on the restart through points from Varley and Andy Moran, but Galway responded with four unanswered points per Gary O'Donnell (two), Joe Bergin and de Paor to draw level for the first time.

But Mayo finished the stronger to claim the Paddy Francis Dwyer Cup and maintain their impressive start to 2010.

Mayo - K O'Malley; A Feeney, G Cafferkey, D Vaughan; P Gardiner (0-1), T Howley, C Barrett (0-1); T Parsons, R McGarrity (0-2); A Moran (0-2), B Kelly, S O'Shea (0-1); E Varley (0-4, one free), A O'Shea, M Ronaldson (0-1). Subs: N Douglas for Kelly (50 mins), K McLoughlin for Howley (55 mins), M Sweeney for Ronaldson (57 mins).

Galway - E Conneely; D O'Neill, F Hanley, E McDonagh; T Fahy, D Blake, G O'Donnell (0-2); B Cullinane (0-1), N Coleman; C Bane, C De Paor (0-3, frees), C Healy; E Concannon (0-2, frees), J Bergin (0-1), M Martin. Subs: D Dunleavy for Bane (14 mins).

Ref: M Duffy (Sligo)

Most Read Stories