HL 3A / 3B round-up: wins for Louth, Tyrone and Cavan

February 25, 2018

Louth, Tyrone and Cavan all enjoyed win in Division 3 today.

Louth, Tyrone and Cavan all clocked up victories in the basement divisions of the national hurling league this afternoon.

In a thrilling contest at Pearse Park, the Wee County defeated Longford by 4-17 to 5-7 to move up to third place on the 3A table.

In Omagh, Tyrone prevented Roscommon from moving to the top of the table when they inflicted a surprise 1-16 to 1-12 defeat on the Rossies.  

And in a bottom of Division 3B derby at Breffni Park, Cavan took bragging rights over neighbours Fermanagh, 3-8 to 0-16.

Louth - S Hackett; M Wallace, M Lyons, C Matthews; S Kettle, R Byrne, A McCrave; D Ryan, M Molloy (0-2); S Callan, G Arthur (0-1), G Smyth; S Connelly (0-1), N Arthur (4-12, 0-6f, 0-1'65), P Lynch (0-1). Subs: D Murphy for S Callan, J Crosbie for G Smyth, M Ryan for D Ryan.

Longford - C Gallagher; K Murray, S Hannon, G Moore; D Duggan, P Walsh (2-0), A Sheridan; S Stakelum, P Barden; P Corcoran, D Connell (0-1), J Leonard; J O'Brien (2-4, 2-0pen, 0-2f), C Mullane (0-1f), J Casey (0-1). Subs: R Murray (1-0) for S Stakelum, PJ Masterson for P Corcoran, P Leonard for P Barden, R O'Brien for P Walsh, C McLoughlin for G Moore.

Referee - C Mooney.


Tyrone - C McElhatton; C McNally, B Begley, R Devlin; L Devlin, S Donnelly, P McHugh; D Begley, C Cross; R McKernan (1-0), P O'Kelly, P Daly (0-1); B McGurk (0-1), D Casey (0-13, 9f, 1sl), L Armstrong (0-1). Subs: A Kelly for S Donnelly, T Morgan for P McHugh, J Ferguson for L Armstrong, C Lagan for P O'Kelly, S Muldoon for P Daly.

Roscommon - J Keane; M Beirne, P Kellehan, P Nolan; S Curley, P Kenny, A Moore; K Hardiman, C Kelly (0-1); D Glynn (0-9, 7f, 2'65), J Kilkenny, G Keenan (0-2); R Fallon (1-0), E Flanagan, J Murray. Subs: P Dolan for J Keane, C Egan for J Murray, J Brennan for K Hardiman.

Referee - S Hynes.


Cavan - D Sheridan; M Moffett, M Hayes, R O'Hagan; D Kelly, S Keating (0-5, 4f, 1'65), M Hynes; K Conneely, P Sheridan (0-1f); L McKenna, J Crowe, N Neary; M Sexton, A Sheridan (0-1), P Brady (2-1). Subs: E Hill for L McKenna, C Wall (1-0) for M Sexton, D Crudden for D Kelly, F Hughes for A Sheridan.

Fermanagh - C McPhillips; D Russell, T Cleary, A Breslin; C Rafferty, M Teague, O Russell; J Duffy (0-1), R Bogue (0-1f); C McShea (0-1), F McBrien (0-1), D Bannon; B McPhillips (0-1), S Curran (0-11, 6f, 2'65), D Teague. Subs: L Harte for O Russell, A McShea for D Teague.

Referee - T Gleeson.

Most Read Stories