Patrickswell club notes

April 23, 2019

SENIOR HURLERS: The Senior hurlers produced a comprehensive display to beat champions Na Piarsaigh in the second match of the County Championship.  Patrickswell began with a high tempo and were rewarded by an early point, which Na Piarsaigh immediately cancelled out.  Within five minutes, Kevin O'Brien struck the net after his determined solo run.  Na Piarsaigh gradually settled into the contest and scored a couple of points to close the gap at 1-2 to 0-3.  However, the Caherdavin men were put on the back foot when Kevin O'Brien notched his second goal to cement a 2-2 to 0-3 advantage for the 'Well.  Diarmaid Byrnes and Jason Gillane then contributed fresh points to open up a seven-point lead of 2-4 to 0-3 after fifteen minutes.  Na Piarsaigh halted the surge with their fourth point of the match, but Aaron Gillane and Andrew Carroll scored points to extend the margin to eight points at 2-6 to 0-4.  The first half ended with a robust response from Na Piarsaigh when they claimed three consecutive points to move closer at 2-6 to 0-7.  Both teams concluded the first half with two points apiece (Jason Gillane and Diarmaid Byrnes).  At half-time, Patrickswell were 2-8 to 0-9 ahead.


Na Piarsaigh made a good start to the second half and scored two straight points. The deficit stood at one goal with 2-8 to 0-11 on the scoreboard. Aaron Gillane produced three points that were sandwiched between three Na Piarsaigh points.  The scoreline after forty minutes was 2-11 to 0-14.  Na Piarsaigh then moved within two points and there was great anticipation among the crowd for a grandstand finish.  However, the match was decided by a ruthless attacking surge from Patrickswell that yielded six consecutive points. Aaron Gillane (0-2), Josh Considine, Andrew Carroll and Jack Kelleher (0-1 each) finally put the match beyond Na Piarsaigh.  At the end or normal time, Ciaran Carey's men held a commanding 2-17 to 0-15 lead.  The Light Blues scored a consolation goal in injury time, but Patrickswell stood firm for a famous 2-17 to 1-15 victory.  Well done to the players and management.


JUNIOR A HURLERS: On Saturday April 27, Patrickswell are scheduled to play Monaleen away at 7pm.  Please follow social media for precise dates and times.


CAMOGIE: Congratulations to Patrickswell's Sarah Gillane, who represented Limerick in their All-Ireland Championship Minor B semi-final victory against Westmeath by 2-19 to 0-11.  Unfortunately, the Limerick Junior Ladies lost their Division 3 final to Kildare. Patrickswell's Emma Barry and Leah O'Carroll lined out for their county.


CLUB LOTTO: Lotto results for the week ending Monday April 15 were as follows. The Numbers Drawn were 1, 20, 30 and 31. The Bonus was 7. There was no jackpot winner. The Lucky Dip Winners were Deirdre O'Reilly €100, 087-2962*** €50, Kevin Holland €20, Tommy & Grace €20, Lillie Considine €20, Olly, Noah & Lily Lynch €20 and John Behan €20. The next draw on Tuesday April 22 will be held in De Bucket. The jackpot is €11,200!


TEAM LIMERICK CLEAN-UP: Thanks to everyone who organised and volunteered for the 5th Annual Team Limerick Clean-up on Good Friday.

Most Read Stories