Munster SHL: Clare and Limerick for final

January 07, 2018

Cork's David Griffin and Chris O'Leary with Conor McGrath of Clare.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Clare and Limerick will face off in the Munster SHL final following their respective victories over Cork and Kerry.

Peter Duggan bagged two goals as Clare sent holders Cork packing on a 4-17 to 0-18 scoreline at Cusack Park in Ennis. Niall Deasy and Cathal Malone also scored 1-2 each, while Rob O'Shea and Declan Dalton posted 0-5 and 0-4 respectively for the experimental visitors.

The Banner had led by 3-5 to 0-10 at the interval.

Limerick's Seamus Flanagan after scoring a goal. ©INPHO/Oisin Keniry.

At the Gaelic Grounds, Seamus Flanagan (two) and Barry Nash struck first half goals for Limerick in a 3-19 to 1-15 win over Kerry.

Leading by 17 points at the break, the hosts eased up in the second half as Padraig Boyle scored a 60th minute consolation goal for the Kingdom.

Clare - P Kelly; E Quirke, C Cleary, P O'Connor; S Morey (0-2), D McInerney, D Fitzgerald; R Taylor (0-1), C Galvin; N Deasy (1-2, 0-1f), C Malone (1-2), I Galvin (0-3); C McGrath, P Duggan (2-0), B Connors (0-1). Subs: J Browne for E Quirke, D Reidy (0-2) for C Galvin, T Kelly (0-2) for C Malone, M O'Neill (0-2) for B Connors, J McCarthy for S Morey.

Cork - A Nash; D Griffin, E Murphy (0-2), C O'Sullivan; C O'Leary, E Cadogan, R Cahalane; L McLoughlin (0-2), L Meade (0-1); E Finn (0-1), B Lawton, D Kearney (0-2); D Dalton (0-5, 4f), E Sheehan, R O'Shea (0-4, 2f). Subs: J Looney (0-1) for E Finn, I Cahill for E Sheehan, C Twomey for R Cahalane, E Keniry for D Dalton, J Cashman for C O'Sullivan.

Referee - J McCormack.


Limerick - B Hennessy; D Fanning, R English, T Condon; D Byrnes (0-1), D Hannon (0-1), W O'Meara; P Browne, A La Touche Cosgrave (0-2); D O'Donovan (0-2), B Nash (1-5), C Lynch (0-1); A Gillane (0-4, 2f), S Flanagan (2-2), B Murphy. Subs: D Morrissey for D Hannon, L Lyons for P Browne, B O'Connell for C Lynch, P O'Loughlin (0-1) for T Condon, O O'Reilly for A Gillane. 

Kerry - S Murphy; D Fitzell, J Diggins, S Weir; B O'Leary, B Murphy, J Buckley; B Barrett (0-1), D Collins (0-2); D O'Carroll (0-1), S Conway, C Harty; J Goulding, P Boyle (1-10, 0-8f), J Conway (0-1). Subs: J O'Connor for B O'Leary, N O'Mahony for S Weir, D Griffin for D Fitzell, P Lucid for J Goulding, P Quill for J Conway, E Murphy for J O'Connor.

Referee - J Larkin.

Most Read Stories