Ex-TD Cregan is new Limerick chairman

December 17, 2017

A general view of a Limerick flag.
©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

A former Fianna Fail TD has been elected chairman of the Limerick county board.

John Cregan defeated Liam O'Sullivan by 140-57 votes at today's annual convention in Cappamore. The Drom-Broadford clubman succeeds Oliver Mann, who stepped down under the five-year rule.

"I will visit every club in the county over the next few months and discuss in private what changes they want to see and then I will lead that change," Cregan is quoted as saying in the Limerick Leader.

"I will be a chairman for every man that pulls a green jersey over their head from U-14 up. This is a humbling experience - one of the greatest privileges of my life."

Most Read Stories