All-Ireland Club JHC: Castleblayney and Dunnamaggin to clash at headquarters

January 20, 2019

Castleblayney captain Peter Treanor raises the Ulster club JHC trophy. ©INPHO/Declan Roughan.

Castleblayney will square up to Dunnamaggin of Kilkenny in this year’s All-Ireland Club JHC final.

The Monaghan side recorded a 1-8 to 0-10 semi-final success over Leitrim’s Carrick at TEG Cusack Park today.

A converted Hugh Byrne penalty five minutes after the resumption was a key ingredient in their winning formula.

The scoreboard read 0-6 to 0-4 in favour of the Ulster champions at the end of the first-half.

Meanwhile, extra-time was required to separate Dunnamaggin and Cloughduv of Cork in Fraher Field.

The Kilkenny standard bearers prevailed on a scoreline of 0-23 to 2-16 following an entertaining tussle.

Normal time finished with the sides deadlocked – Dunnamaggin 0-18, Cloughduv 2-12.

Thomas Maher took the scoring honours for the winners with 0-11 while Mark Walsh and substitute Kevin Barry Murphy netted the goals for the men from the Rebel County.

Castleblayney - P Collins; C Merrick, J McHugh, E Leonard; A Kenny, P Treanor (0-2), C McNally; B Flanagan, P Finnegan; Hugh Byrne (1-4, 1-0pen, 0-3f), M Treanor, F Finnegan; F Rafter (0-2), B McGuigan, C Callan. Subs: B Connor for C Callan, P Malone for F Finnegan, N Adair for B Connor.

Carrick - D Molloy; T Glancy, C Beirne, E Moreton; C Mallon, J Glancy, H Glancy; V McDermott, C Maguire; C Cunniffe (0-8, 6f, 1'65), C McCrann, C Moreton; L Moreton, K McGrath, S Goldrick (0-1). Subs: G O'Brien for V McDermott, J McNadbola (0-1) for C Maguire.

Referee - S Stack.


Dunnamaggin - S O'Neill; M Heffernan, N Hickey, V Costello; M Cody (0-1), W Phelan, A Fitzpatrick; D Fitzpatrick (0-1), E Kearney; T Maher (0-11, 5f, 1'65), R Cody (0-2), D O'Keeffe (0-1); R Coffey (0-1), J Fitzpatrick (0-6), I Walsh. Subs: L Fitzpatrick for I Walsh, C Hoban for R Cody, R Cody for L Fitzpatrick, P Kirwan for Hoban.

Cloughduv - J Buckley; P Buckley, B Ahern, P O'Sullivan; G Ahern, D O'Leary, E Clifford; M Walsh (0-4), A Murphy; M Verling (0-2), A Cronin, D Corkery; B Verling (0-6, 4f), J Ryan (0-1), J Moynihan (0-1). Subs: D Sullivan for G Ahern, A Twomey for P O'Sullivan, K Barry Murphy (2-1) for D Corkery, A Ahern (0-1) for J Ryan, K Walsh for J Moynihan, B Hinchion for D O'Leary.

Referee - T Walsh.

Most Read Stories