Turloughmore crowned Feile champions

June 11, 2018

Turloughmore are crowned Féile na nGael Division 1 title for a second time

Turloughmore lifted the Féile na nGael Division 1 title for a second time following a 0-8 to 0-6 victory over Durlas Óg at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence near Ballyhaunis yesterday.

The Galway lads laid the foundation for their win in the first half when they established a 0-4 to 0-2 lead after playing against the wind. Their Tipperary opponents back battled with points from free-taker Tommy Maher, but two late scores from Tom Nolan secured Turloughmore's second Christy Ring Cup in eight years.

Cork's St. Finbarr's won the Division 1 Shield following a comprehensive 2-11 to 0-2 victory over Ballygunner from Waterford, while Kildare's Naas landed their second Division 2 title after overcoming Ballinascreen of Derry in the final. In an all-Galway Division 2 Shield final, Kilnadeema-Leitrim accounted for Tommy Larkins on a 3-6 to 0-3 scoreline.

Kildare's Emeralds edged out Mount Leinster Rangers of Carlow by 2-9 to 2-8 in a dramatic Division 3 final, with Kinvara defeating Galway rivals Carnmore to win the Shield.

CRC Gaels of Offaly defeated Cois Farraige by 1-4 to 0-6 to claim the Division 4 spoils, with Castletown-Geoghegan of Westmeath taking the Shield in the same division.

Meanwhile, Crumlin of Dublin overcame another Galway outfit, Mullagh-Kiltormer, in the Division 5 final at TEG Cusack Park in Mullingar, while Clann na nGael of Westmeath were the Shield winners. 

Sarsfields of Cork and Kilrush of Wexford shared the camogie Division 1 crown after extra-time couldn't separate them, while Ballygalet (Down), The Harps (Laois) and O'Moore's (Laois) won the respective Division 2, 3 and 4 titles.

Most Read Stories