Cats opposed to Croker fencing

August 17, 2010

Kilkenny and Tipperary support on Hill 16 for the 2009 All Ireland hurling final.
Kilkenny's Eddie Brennan and DJ Carey have hit out at the decision to fence off Hill 16 ahead of next month's All-Ireland finals.

Brennan, who is a Garda based in Portlaoise, also criticised the conduct of some security personnel in the aftermath of last September's All-Ireland hurling final between Kilkenny and Tipperary, and predicts that it will be difficult to keep celebrating fans off the pitch when the counties clash in this year's decider on September 5.

"I think it's the wrong move by the GAA and a bit extreme. The last thing you want to see is people getting hurt and I appreciate where the GAA are coming from.

"But I'd be very sceptical about putting barriers up as I think it's going to cause more problems.

"I know for a fact last year there were security lads there and they went above their station in some of the things they done to supporters. It's a thorny issue and I don't know what the solution is. But if you have a problem, you don't try to make it worse, maybe facilitate it in an organised fashion. If Tipp win in three weeks' time, you try keeping the Tipp supporters off that pitch and likewise the Kilkenny supporters if they win. Common sense has to prevail."

Brennan is in favour of celebrating with fans after All-Ireland finals.

"It's part of the history," he added.

"We've seen it over the years in black and white photos and lads being carried off the field. The few minutes afterwards when the supporters come in is carnage but it's just such a rush of adrenaline. I know myself as a young fella I went up there in '92 and '93 and part of the craic was getting out on the pitch."

Cats legend DJ Carey concurred with Brennan's views.

"I was one last year who would have been calling to have the crowd out on the field. I still am. But if it is that serious a thing, and if the GAA are absolutely that intent, give it one more go, no fences, no nothing and let the crowd adhere to it," he said at the launch of a Guinness competition where fans can win an helicopter ride to the All-Ireland final..

"If the crowd adhere to it, we don't need any of that fencing. I thought it was something that was just spectacular, win or lose. I was never hassled or anything after an All-Ireland final or any match. It is a celebration for the winning team. I think it is nearly more of a blow to be in the middle of the field with nobody else on it."

Most Read Stories