Champions St Mary's to open against UU in Sigerson Cup

December 07, 2017

St Mary's celebrate their Sigerson Cup final victory over UCD

The draws for the 2018 Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup competitions have been made throwing up some intriguing clashes for next season.

In the Sigerson Cup, champions St Mary's will begin their title defence against University of Ulster in Round 1 and the stakes will be high with the 10-team third level competition being played on a knock-out basis.

The Fitzgibbon Cup will be played on a round robin basis with four groups and the top two from each advancing through to the quarter-finals.

Champions Mary's Immaculate have been drawn with Carlow IT, NUI Galway and Trinity, while Group 1 sees an all-Cork affair between CIT and UCC with UCD also drawn into the same group.

Sigerson Cup Draw:

Prem Round:

AIT v Garda College

Trinity v DkIT

Round 1:

UCC v Prem 1

NUI Galway v IT Sligo

Queens v ITT

DiT v Carlow

St Mary's v UU


Maynooth v UCD

Prem2 v DCU

Fitzgibbon Cup Draw:

Group 1: CIT, UCC, UCD

Group 2: UL, DIT, WIT

Group 3: LIT, DCU, Garda

Group 4: Mary I, Carlow IT, NUI Galway, Trinity

Most Read Stories