Connacht U20FC: Tribesmen edge Mayo on penalties

February 08, 2020

Galway's Tomo Culhane celebrates

Galway are through to the semi-finals of the Connacht U20 football championship after overcoming rivals Mayo 3-2 on penalties in Castlebar.

It finished 0-14 to 1-11 at the end of extra time at MacHale Park, where the hosts had built up a commanding 0-8 to 0-2 lead after the opening 30 minutes having had the advantage of a strong gail force wind.

Paul Towey, who finished with 0-9, proved the Tribesmen’s chief tormentor but not their undoing here as they’d land eight points of their own after the restart to send this provincial opener into extra time.

Tony Gill, Tomo Culhane, Nathan Granger, Matthew Tierney and Cathal Sweeney all found their range for the holders as the scoreboard read 0-10 apiece at the end of normal time and when Tierney hit the Mayo net before the break in extra time the hosts looked on their way.

Mayo clawed back to the two-point deficit though thanks to a brace from that man Towey to force penalties but couldn’t convert their third spot kick as senior star Oisin Mullin saw his effort saved by Conor Flaherty, ushering Galway into the last four of this competition alongside Leitrim.

Galway - C Flaherty; J McGrath, S Fitzgerald, J Glynn; C Monaghan, T Gill (0-3), C Sweeney (0-1); C Raftery, J McLaughlin; A Greene, M Tierney (1-2, 0-2f), P Kelly; N Grainger (0-1), T Culhane (0-1), M Cooley (0-1). Subs: R Monaghan (0-2) for A Greene, E Mannion for N Grainger, M Geraghty for M Cooley, O Gormley for C Raftery, J Kirrane for C Sweeney.

Mayo - J McNicholas; J Coyne, D McBrien, L Tunney; A McDonnell, R Brickenden, E Hession; O Mullin, J Carney; C Gavin (0-1f), F Irwin (0-2, 1f), P McGoldrick (0-1); J Jennings (0-1m), M Moran, P Towey (0-9, 3f). Subs: K Callaghan for F Irwin, J Mahon for J Jennings, P Lambert for M Moran, A Barrett for C Gavin, P Chambers for R Brickenden.

Referee - B Judge.

Most Read Stories