HS hurling team of the week

February 03, 2020

Tipperary goalkeeper Brian Hogan scores a penalty during the Allianz HL Division 1 Group A round 2 clash against Cork at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. ©INPHO/Ken Sutton.

Here are the players that impressed us the most in the weekend's Allianz hurling league round 2 games...


1. Enda Rowland (Laois)

The All-Star nominee came in for special praise from Dublin manager Mattie Kenny following his display in Parnell Park.

2. Sean Finn (Limerick)

The consistent Finn played an instrumental role in restricting Galway to eight points from play at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

3. Sean O’Donoghue (Cork)

The Rebel County full-back played a big part in his team’s 2-24 to 1-25 win over Tipperary in Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

4. Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)

O’Donnell was his usual reliable self against Eddie Brennan’s O’Moore County.

5. Aidan McCarthy (Clare)

Clare prevailed by three points against Wexford and McCarthy put in a decent shift in the half-back line.

6. Paudie Maher (Tipperary)

The Thurles Sarsfields man sent over three points against Cork but his efforts proved to be in vain.

7. Iarlaith Daly (Waterford)

More difficult assignments await the Deise but Daly and his team-mates got the job done against Westmeath.

8. Alan Murphy (Kilkenny)

The midfielder top scored for the Cats with 0-8 (frees) in their routine Group B win over neighbours Carlow.

9. Tony Kelly (Clare)

“Tony is great” – we can’t argue with Brian Lohan’s assessment of the former Hurler of the Year’s display against Wexford.

10. Mark Kehoe (Tipperary)

The disappointment of defeat was eased somewhat for Premier County supporters by Kehoe’s impressive showing.

11. Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

Limerick made it two win from as many outings against Galway and Morrissey exerted a big influence on proceedings.

12. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

The seasoned campaigner marked his first appearance of the year with 1-3 against the Barrowsiders.

13. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

Cadogan continued his rich vein of form with four points against the All-Ireland champions.

14. Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

The Waterford full-forward finished with 2-8 to his name against the Lake County.

15. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Tipperary’s indiscipline was ruthlessly punished by Horgan who clocked up 1-9 in Pairc Ui Chaoimh.



Most Read Stories