Replying To Reco:  "37 year old sub goalie we are goin for youth alright."
I don't get it...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 16/01/2019 20:11:40    2157639

Replying To Crinigan:  "I don't get it..."
Brennan is in his 30s youthful lad

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 16/01/2019 21:55:48    2157658

Replying To Reco:  "Tipp have one the best full forward line on the country do if we can get grip there we b doin well. On the set up this year good to see a football coach nally involved. He might bring bit cleverness sideline cuteness to the set up. Feel McEntee loses plot to easily not concentrating on wots important game for instance. Let's hope for it anyway."
In fairness our youthful keepers won't commit while our youthful midfielders are in different countries.

I'll agree about Tipps full forward line especially Quinlivan, he's a threat to the best of full backs.
McGill will have great experience against him at this stage, he's marked him a number of times since minor.

My main concerns would be midfield and our half forward line. Tipp have great runners in them areas and we will have to make sure they are tracked.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 16/01/2019 22:54:56    2157668

Replying To seadog54:  "hopefully you are right. There is nothing wrong with a bit of optimism, just think its a bit early to judge."
Watching them V Dublin I think its going to go pear shaped in the League. Menton is decent but Christ we are very ordinary all over especially at midfield and up front. At the back Kane had a torrid evening on Basquel , Newman was very ordinary and Reilly just never tracks. Tomas Reilly is not a scoring forward either. I cant see this Meath team beating Donegal, Cork, Kildare, or a revitalised Armagh. So there is 4 tough games I cant see us winning. They can beat Clare , Fermanagh and possibly Tipperary. Its all or bust I feel in game 1 but I would not be surprised the wheels come off the wagon.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 16/01/2019 23:35:26    2157676

Replying To Crinigan:  "Robert McCarthy, anytime I've seen him I always think he'd offer something different for Meath to what we have and I think him and Newman would be a complimentary 2 man ff line. Also left footed free taker I think.

I imagine you see more of him, whats your view?"
Brilliant footballer, his left boot is ridiculously good. When he slotted a sideline from the corner in Navan for the county final, I don't think there was anyone there that was surprised. He is fairly one footed being fair but such is his unique style of kicking I don't think I have ever seen him blocked down. On the flip side some might argue the inter county game doesn't have space for throwback forwards such as this anymore which is quite depressing but a fair point to an extent, maybe rule changes will change that to a degree. Don't think we'll ever find out in his case however, I don't think he has the time to commit. Football wise alone I have no doubt he would be good enough, I remember someone scoffed at that idea last year which baffled me but no point arguing a hypothetical point really.

On another note, decent review of Saturday gone here: https://soundcloud.com/user-158378740/ep-38-obyrne-cup-players-to-watch-tipperary-first-up-new-chship-structure

These lads were quite taken with Campion as was anyone I spoke to who went so looking forward to seeing if he can make the step up, sounds encouraging. Whatever about a shortage of inside forwards for a while now, we still appear to produce plenty of half forwards. I would have loved to see Larkin giving it a go this year as to my eyes he is the best centre forward / playmaker currently in the county unless you're including COS there but we have some competition in and around here at least.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 17/01/2019 06:58:25    2157682

Replying To Reco:  "Brennan is in his 30s youthful lad"
I'm personally not a fan of players being discarded just because they are in their 30s. From Cluxton to Ronaldo, many great players are the difference makers well into their 30s. The whole give youth a chance is fine but it's a balancing act.

This line of thinking led to Meath discarding Cian Ward, Brian Farrell and Peadar Byrne amongst others at least two years too early from our county setup - in hindsight this was a massive error.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 17/01/2019 09:02:17    2157684

Replying To Reco:  "37 year old sub goalie we are goin for youth alright."
He's 37 in 2021 fella

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 17/01/2019 09:33:17    2157690

We had the same guys complaining about the keeper who took himself off the panel and blaming him for some defeats. He was better than anything that has replaced him. Now we have guys posting about a keepers age. Others are posting about the good defence (which conceded big scores in many matches) and poor forwards when in all matches most of our forwards were playing as attackers. To do well one needs the best players available which unfortunately is not the case and you put out the best players available irrespective of age. You can build for the future as many counties do-but it never arises for 90% of them.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/01/2019 10:18:56    2157705

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "1.Barry Dardis
2.Seamus Lavin
3.Conor McGill
4.Ronan Ryan
5.James McEntee
6.Donal Keoghan
7.Niall Kane
8.Brian Menton
9.Adam Flanagan
10.Mickey Burke
11.Darragh Campion
12.Graham Reilly
13.Thomas O'Reilly
14.Michael Newman
15.Brian McMahon

I think we need to start looking more towards youth and potential for the next 5/10 years.
10 of the team picked above are all under the age of 25.

It seems that the keeper position is between Dardis and Brennan, I would be going with youth over experience as Marcus is on the wrong side of his 30s now.

The backs pick themselves at the minute no one has had a really bad game in which you would call for them to be dropped.

We still lack a quality midfielder like Nash or O Rourke, McBride is still too inexperienced while Devine is probably an option for years to come.

Up front is where I have more questions than answers. I'd have Newman in for his free taking and ability to win ball. Biggie is our best option from open play for scores. We need Brennan, McMahon, O Sullivan and Tobin all need to kick on this year! None of them have reached the heights we expect. Campion, O Reilly and Conlon are lads for the future and need game time throughout the league.
Finally I'm going with Burke at wing forward for the simple reason that he rarely wastes ball and we done that so much on Saturday, taking the shot when it wasn't on, not giving a kick pass when it was on, the basic skills required at this level!"
I would go for the following team to start v Tipp

Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Burke
James McEntee
Donal Keoghan
Niall Kane
B Menton
Flanagan
Campion
Devine
G Reilly
C O Sullivan
Newman
Conlon

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 17/01/2019 10:28:16    2157707

They say a week's a long time in politics but definitely a year is a long time in football. I know its part of the game but you really would have to have some sympathy for inter county managers, I was looking at the panel for last years league game against Tipperary. Of the 26 on the match day panel, I make it 10 are not currently available to the manager . Donal lennihan (gone travelling) Padraig mc mckeever(left panel), breen conlon(left) Eamonn Wallace(left) ,Harry Rooney(left), brian power(left) brian McMahon (not sure may be injured) Daniel o Neill ( cruciate injury), Caolach Halligan(cruciate injury) shane mcentee (injured) If you add in Paddy connelly (injured)and joey wallace(left) that is a lot of bodies not available. You might argue that some are not that big of a loss and that maybe the case but surely the managers hand would be stronger if a couple at least were available. I know people leaving and long time injuries are part and parcel of every county panel, and maybe even the panel is just as strong now but when you add in the players that were dropped aswell, such a turnover must make it tough for a manager. Either way its always a nice time of year,when the hope is at its greatest. Best of luck to all involved!! P.S I may be wrong in regard to certain players but you get the idea

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 17/01/2019 11:36:54    2157724

Replying To Footnote:  "They say a week's a long time in politics but definitely a year is a long time in football. I know its part of the game but you really would have to have some sympathy for inter county managers, I was looking at the panel for last years league game against Tipperary. Of the 26 on the match day panel, I make it 10 are not currently available to the manager . Donal lennihan (gone travelling) Padraig mc mckeever(left panel), breen conlon(left) Eamonn Wallace(left) ,Harry Rooney(left), brian power(left) brian McMahon (not sure may be injured) Daniel o Neill ( cruciate injury), Caolach Halligan(cruciate injury) shane mcentee (injured) If you add in Paddy connelly (injured)and joey wallace(left) that is a lot of bodies not available. You might argue that some are not that big of a loss and that maybe the case but surely the managers hand would be stronger if a couple at least were available. I know people leaving and long time injuries are part and parcel of every county panel, and maybe even the panel is just as strong now but when you add in the players that were dropped aswell, such a turnover must make it tough for a manager. Either way its always a nice time of year,when the hope is at its greatest. Best of luck to all involved!! P.S I may be wrong in regard to certain players but you get the idea"
I see B. Power, D. Toner and J.Conlon (0-2 from play) lined out in DIT's Sigerson loss yesterday - presume these are the Meath lads??

Who else from the county will be playing Sigerson this year?

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 17/01/2019 13:00:32    2157748

Replying To Footnote:  "They say a week's a long time in politics but definitely a year is a long time in football. I know its part of the game but you really would have to have some sympathy for inter county managers, I was looking at the panel for last years league game against Tipperary. Of the 26 on the match day panel, I make it 10 are not currently available to the manager . Donal lennihan (gone travelling) Padraig mc mckeever(left panel), breen conlon(left) Eamonn Wallace(left) ,Harry Rooney(left), brian power(left) brian McMahon (not sure may be injured) Daniel o Neill ( cruciate injury), Caolach Halligan(cruciate injury) shane mcentee (injured) If you add in Paddy connelly (injured)and joey wallace(left) that is a lot of bodies not available. You might argue that some are not that big of a loss and that maybe the case but surely the managers hand would be stronger if a couple at least were available. I know people leaving and long time injuries are part and parcel of every county panel, and maybe even the panel is just as strong now but when you add in the players that were dropped aswell, such a turnover must make it tough for a manager. Either way its always a nice time of year,when the hope is at its greatest. Best of luck to all involved!! P.S I may be wrong in regard to certain players but you get the idea"
Its not ideal, its a really tough job been a manager, but its part and parcel of inter county football theses. Its kinda of dying IMO. Meath are not the only ones that are affected. County teams all over the county are getting it really hard for players (Heslin for WestMeath ) (And few people have left the Galway panel as well I hear) to put there life on hold, for very little reward in most cases. People say everyone needs to reach Dublin's level. I totally disagree, I think we need to find a way reduce to load at intercounty level to allow more players to play inter county. or other wise well continue to see more and more mis match games. But I guess this a whole other debate.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 17/01/2019 13:37:46    2157765

I hear Joey Wallace is injured and is still on panel? Kennely I've asked on here and is gone traveling Brian McMahon , Is still on panel but is carrying a knock.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2019 15:24:42    2157805

Here is my starting team be tipp.
1.Dardis (his kick outs seem to find the man more often than not)
2.Lavin (don't think it's up for debate
3.McGill (sane as lavin a mainstay)
4.Ryan (has impressed me so far)
5.James McEntee (offers speed going forward)
6.Donal Keoghan (like lavin and McGill a starter)
7.Niall Kane ( really good work rate, can be prone to odd mistake, but definitely has earned his place)
8.B Menton (obviously)
9.Flanagan ( not been hard on Adam , but we haven't much of a choice) needs to uo his game significantly
10.Campion (the one that has taken my eye more than anyone else in the preseason)
11.Brennan, (for me a certain starter and I think with his club mates will come alive this year )
12.Conlon (this guy has some serious potential, while he might not set game alight straight away, he has to start )
13.C O Sullivan (this has to be his year )
14.Reilly (better off in inside forwards doesn't need to track back as much, still our best option of scores from play)
15. Newman, (dead ball accuracy needs to be 90%. )
Subs Burke , Devine Quinn
O Reilly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2019 15:41:27    2157811

Replying To royaldunne:  "Here is my starting team be tipp.
1.Dardis (his kick outs seem to find the man more often than not)
2.Lavin (don't think it's up for debate
3.McGill (sane as lavin a mainstay)
4.Ryan (has impressed me so far)
5.James McEntee (offers speed going forward)
6.Donal Keoghan (like lavin and McGill a starter)
7.Niall Kane ( really good work rate, can be prone to odd mistake, but definitely has earned his place)
8.B Menton (obviously)
9.Flanagan ( not been hard on Adam , but we haven't much of a choice) needs to uo his game significantly
10.Campion (the one that has taken my eye more than anyone else in the preseason)
11.Brennan, (for me a certain starter and I think with his club mates will come alive this year )
12.Conlon (this guy has some serious potential, while he might not set game alight straight away, he has to start )
13.C O Sullivan (this has to be his year )
14.Reilly (better off in inside forwards doesn't need to track back as much, still our best option of scores from play)
15. Newman, (dead ball accuracy needs to be 90%. )
Subs Burke , Devine Quinn
O Reilly"
Yeah - I'd say you are pretty close there -

I think Conlon is an inside forward rather than a half forward and I think he and Cian O'S would swap position.

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 17/01/2019 15:58:20    2157816

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Yeah - I'd say you are pretty close there -

I think Conlon is an inside forward rather than a half forward and I think he and Cian O'S would swap position."
Yeah I think you could be right on that one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2019 16:18:07    2157822

It's essentially a new panel every year. Must be very hard to develop any continuity particularly without the benefit of any silverware or even Div 1 / super 8's action. It's a wild guess but we must have gone through 60-70 senior players since 2010. That's fine for the likes of Dublin where generally only the best of the crop survive from year to year, unfortunately that's not the case in other counties. Imagine a prem league club swapping out 10 of its first team squad every year - multiple relegations would be on the cards. I've said it before but we need to start tackling this as the #1 priority.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 17/01/2019 16:54:13    2157829

I've yet to see anything from Brennan to indicate he is a certain starter. Maybe by default as options are limited but I wouldn't have him in my 15.

I'd have the below as a front 6, Burke did a great job at wing forward against Tyrone, don't think Reilly is able for win forward anymore, certainly not the defensive side

C O'Sullivan
Campion
Burke
T. O'Reilly
Newman
G. Reilly

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 17/01/2019 17:58:14    2157838

Replying To Belt:  "I see B. Power, D. Toner and J.Conlon (0-2 from play) lined out in DIT's Sigerson loss yesterday - presume these are the Meath lads??

Who else from the county will be playing Sigerson this year?"
Conor Moriarty got a couple of mins for UCD today to answer my own question

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 17/01/2019 17:59:03    2157839

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Watching them V Dublin I think its going to go pear shaped in the League. Menton is decent but Christ we are very ordinary all over especially at midfield and up front. At the back Kane had a torrid evening on Basquel , Newman was very ordinary and Reilly just never tracks. Tomas Reilly is not a scoring forward either. I cant see this Meath team beating Donegal, Cork, Kildare, or a revitalised Armagh. So there is 4 tough games I cant see us winning. They can beat Clare , Fermanagh and possibly Tipperary. Its all or bust I feel in game 1 but I would not be surprised the wheels come off the wagon."
Its difficult to disagree with your post, hard to see how we have improved from a poor 2018, still struggling at midfield and forwards still very much hit/miss. Donegal and Kildare very difficult games. Would be more hopefull against Cork as they are rebuilding at present. The rest is pretty much 50/50. If we can start with a win- and thats a big if- hopefully it will give them the confidence going forward.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 17/01/2019 18:40:42    2157851