"Full forward is great craic once the ball is coming in"

February 20, 2015

Dublin's Liam Rushe celebrates after scoring a goal in the Walsh Cup final.
©INPHO/Cathal Noonan.

Liam Rushe is adjusting to life on the edge of the square.

The All Star centre back previously wore the number 14 jersey in 2012, but that proved to be a nightmare season for Dublin and Rushe duly returned to the defence the following season.

"Maybe it might work this time and there are different lads pushing through and PK (Peter Kelly) could be a grand centre back and free me up for elsewhere or vice versa," the St. Patrick's clubman told reporters at an Under Armour promotional event yesterday.

"I was still there (full forward) against Clare in 2012 and we were comfortably winning that game until they got a man sent off and it all went pear-shaped. It's a funny one.

"I was swanning around everywhere. I used to start in the corner, then go full, go wing, go centre."

While his previous incarnation at full forward might not have been success, Rushe - who found the net against Tipperary last weekend - is happy to give it another try.

"He (Ger Cunningham) is the manager. He threw me in there in training one day and said we'd try it and have a look. That's pretty much the same line I got come Walsh Cup and come league. We'll try it and if it's a winning formula, I'm happy enough.

"I always said I like centre back, that's where I like to play, but full-forward is great craic once the ball is coming in."

And Rushe believes his experience of marking some of the best forwards in the game can stand to him.

"It's a bit more comfortable (this time). Certainly I have a lot more experience of marking top-class forwards so basically trying to emulate what I've seen from the trickiest people I've come up against."

Most Read Stories