St Malachy's GAC Club Notes

December 02, 2008
ST MALACHY'S G.A.C CASTLEDAWSON Lotto Numbers drawn in the weekly Lotto on Monday 1st December 2008 were 4, 11, 13 & 20. As there was no winner, the Lucky Dips went to Ann Heaney and Niall McNicholl. Niall has decided to buy himself a pair of pink furry dice for his car....lovely! The jackpot for next week stands at £4500; a nice little earner on the run up to Christmas, so please keep buying and selling!! Club Dinner The Annual Club Dinner Dance and presentation night will be held in the ELK this coming Friday night(5th December) at 8.30pm sharp; ticket prices are £20 each and can be purchased from Paddy Bradley(on 028 79469430) or any other committee member; get in early to avoid disappointed. A night to renew old friendships and enjoy the craic; book your tickets and be there! Music is by This & That, with Derry great Jim McKeever as guest speaker. The Club will also be honouring the historic championship winning team of 1958, so make sure and book your tickets early to avoid disappointment. Club AGM The Annual General Meeting of St. Malachy's GAC Castledawson will be held in the pavilion on Wednesday December 10th at 7.30pm sharp. An open invite to attend is extended to all members, friends and others interested in helping to plan for the future, your input is important. The AGM will reflect on the happenings of 2008 and look forward to 2009 on all fronts on and off the playing field. The meeting will hopefully act as a pointer to the new season and what can be achieved given the effort, commitment and dedication of so many people on different aspects of the club. Each year there are many positions to be filled in both administration and coaching so come along and offer a helping hand in 2009, let us all work together towards future success and prosperity. Thanks are extended to all club members for their time, dedication and support over the past 12 months but with new plans for further development on the agenda there will be much more to be done in 2009 and beyond; that workload can be made easier handled if we could all offer a little of our spare time and share the responsibility, give it thought. This club belongs to the people of the Castledawson community who have made it what it is since formation in 1939 and if you are enthusiastic, energetic, like a challenge and have the future of it at heart then there is no better time than now to get involved; your club needs you. Youth This years Youth Presentation Night was held last Thursday night(November 27th)in the Moyola Golf Club. All the young camogs & footballers enjoyed the evening thoroughly, and with the coaches, parents and other club members in attendance, it was a proud night to be involved with the club. A special word of thanks to our esteemed guests Jane Adams, Ryan Pickering & Sean Cavanagh, who helped in giving out awards, congratulate the players as well as speaking about their own experiences and offering advice to our young stars of the future. Congratulations must go to all who helped organise the event; being able to put together such an impressive line-up can't have been easy.....and to Una Hughes(UH Crafts) for making the exquisite plaques for all the underage camogs; a lovely keepsake for 2008. Below are the list of award winners on the night;- Football : U-8 Most Improved - Fearghal McKenna, U-8 Player Of The Year - Ruairi Keenan. U-10 Most Improved - Padraig McAtamney, U-10 Player Of The Year - Luke Doyle. U-12 Most Improved - Jordan Shivers, U-12 Player Of The Year - Oran Mullan. U-14 Most Improved - Paul McCoy & Michael McElwee, U-14 Player Of The Year - Stephen O'Hagan. U-16 Most Improved - Christopher Bradley, U-16 Player Of The Year Kyle Bradley. Camogie : U-10 Most Improved - Frances Connery, U-10 Player Of The Year - Megan Kearns. U-12 Most Improved - Niamh Bell, U-12 Player Of The Year - Leona Brown. U-14 Most Improved - Lisa Robinson, U-14 Player Of The Year - Orlagh Bradley. U-16 Most Improved - Shona O'Kane, U-16 Player Of The Year - Caoimhe McCoy. Congratulations to ALL the young camogs and footballers!! Website/E-mail Anyone who is a regular visitor to the club web site and would like to receive emailed information on club events please register and we will keep you updated; if you are already a registered member and have changed your email address can you please re-register so as the info will get to you. This year we intend to introduce a Christmas Quiz Competition for all registered members with a valuable prize to be won. The Club website address is www.castledawsongac.com Clothing Bank There will now be a clothing bank located inside the club car park. All textiles, such as sheets, curtains, clothes, shoes, belts and bags may be put in, but must be clean and dry. The car park can be accessed at all times. This is now a permanent feature and can be used by anyone. Notice The committee would like to remind everyone that dogs are not allowed on to either of the pitches at any time. Also, all dog litter to be 'cleaned up' from around the pitch by the owner - no excuses. Dancing Classes The McNicholl School of Irish Dancing are continuing classes in the Pavilion every Monday night at 7pm sharp. Everyone welcome, especially beginners.

Most Read Stories