Fermanagh v Meath

glas dont agree with meath maybe taking points from tyrone just cause we playing at home we are no good lads come on face the truth and the truth is tyrone will beat us in the league no matter where game played cant believe how positive some posters are here time to face it not all mod fault players not good enough to say we can beat tyrone is laughable we could not beat fermanagh how do you think this group of players can beat the best team in the league

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 08/02/2016 18:04:21    1823647

WhyTheLongFace

Wll he played at the weekend,but if he is not back for the Cavan game,I doubt he will be back..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/02/2016 18:49:28    1823658

Yes bob Evans didn't so anything at Roscommon? Ahh come on what division they in? At our expense too, and if we want to talk about them loosing to Sligo? Well id rate Westmeath on par with Sligo if you get my meaning, players would go through a wall for gg, something not one player would do for mod, also he has done ok at dulleek without any questions.
Wtlf maybe u didn't see I wrote I said it at time not 24 hours later.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2016 19:07:15    1823668

"we could get good.wins against Galway, Tyrone and.Derry". Are u serious there? We will.definitely lose all 3 of them games and lose handsomely. Cavan and laois are our only hope too save ourselves from relegation

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 08/02/2016 19:44:18    1823682

thecraw - to say we cannot possibly beat Tyrone anywhere on a given day isn't the case. Over the past few years Meath were far more up for some games than others. At PT, with a full-strength team (relatively speaking) on a good day and with a big crowd behind them, they can give any team in D2 a game. They could beat Tyrone after losing to Cavan. You just do not know how this team will perform from game to game - they are better as underdogs, otherwise complacency or apathy can set in. Yesterday, was like our away trips to Clones/Monaghan in MOD's early years, except playing a much weaker side.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 08/02/2016 19:57:29    1823686

I couldn't understand when we were down to 14 players our most potent player Biggy was retreating back as a sweeper. This call was made from the sideline. Why not push him on nearer to the goals and not away from them although at times he looked dis-interested. We don't have the strength to cope with physical teams. Tormey was a bit silly and probably too honest, a he was the attacking player he should have went to ground with a roar like the Fermanagh player did when the contact was made. The Fermanagh player knew what he was doing. The lineman saw the incident but could see anything when Biggy was trying to get his attention when the Fermangh No.7 was walking on him before the throw in. Tobin missing that free to equalise at 7 all seem to knock the stuffing out of our challenge and playing with 14 on such a heavy pitch took it's toll. What is the story with Donacha Tobin, he has been with the squad for the last 4 games but hasn't even appeared on the bench. Is he recovering from injury

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 08/02/2016 20:10:55    1823697

Bob I'm sorry I dont think I can take you serious, are you really suggesting we drop the only class player we have,? I am lost for words.
If you were at game yesterday he was not firing on all cylinders and shouldn't have played, and as for complaining to sideline, too bloody right, only him and Burke are not the new soft Meath type, dying breed of player who will play the official as well.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2016 20:20:26    1823703

"we could get good.wins against Galway, Tyrone and.Derry". Are u serious there? We will.definitely lose all 3 of them games and lose handsomely. Cavan and laois are our only hope too save ourselves from relegation

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts:165 - 08/02/2016 19:44:18

well what i did say "Cavan and Laois games would be the target to get points and yet we could get good wins against Galway ,Tyrone and Derry and lose to Cavan and Laois!"

kinda has that ironic twist the last bit do you not think?...but the evidence is all with you my most southern honourable gentleman...or did one say the wrong thing yet again:)

time is a good storyteller!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 08/02/2016 20:26:30    1823709

and even though you see cavan as the weak link ,we only lost against tyrone and derry by a point ,I would also go to say we faced the two best teams in our div ,we would be looking at meath as a team we can beat too ,just don't expect a handy game,

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 08/02/2016 20:41:52    1823721

bisto kid

not sure anyone from Meath expects a handy game from Cavan,as you say ye lost your first two matches,but they have to be looked at in context.Meath are gonna have to play better than any game they have played this year to be in with a chance in that one.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/02/2016 21:10:34    1823742

So who should be dropped for next game?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 08/02/2016 21:23:10    1823748

I wouldn't make too many changes from the last game to be honest. We can't go lurching from one game to the next making half a dozen changes every time. That is no way for a team to improve. If I were MOD, I would be saying to them - "OK we had a bad day at the office last week- this is your chance to redeem yourself in front of your home crowd, against a local rival". And see who steps up to the mark.

We obviously need another midfielder. I think that if MOD seriously considers Cian O'Brien to be an option at midfield, now is the time to play him. We literally have one fit midfielder available in young Rooney. If he isn't going to give O'Brien a chance now, then when is he going to try him? If he doesn't rate him, then that's fine - its his call. But in that case, stop wasting the lads time and just drop him off the panel completely. Otherwise give him a chance to prove himself. If not O'Brien, then I would like to see Donnacha Tobin in there, if he is fit. Not sure that he will be match fit at that stage though. My suspicion is that MOD will put Graham Reilly in midfield, which in my opinion would be just about the worst thing he could do.

I would also give Ruairi O'Coilean a chance - probably instead of McEntee. A bit harsh on McEntee, after one bad game. But I like the look of O'Coilean and would like to see him get a decent run out.

That's about all I would do. The defence held Fermanagh to 10 points. I don't see the need for a change there. Give them a chance to from a proper unit by playing a few games regularly together.

Oh and I would change goal-keepers. But that's nothing new. I would have done that a long time ago. Never going to happen though.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 09/02/2016 08:23:52    1823764

No one is taking Cavan for granted. Id rate them better Than either Armagh or Fermanagh. Dont know where you getting your info from bistokid.
Now to say its a game we have to win is I think where you getting confused. And I think also the same applies to Cavan, so we have to see what happens.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2016 10:11:00    1823792

For the Cavan match I wouldn't play either McEntee or O'Coilean. We play Dublin 3 days later in the U-21 Championship and I'd keep these two lads fresh for that game.

Provided we pick up no further injuries before the Cavan game I'd let them off to Sean Barry to prep properly for the U-21.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 09/02/2016 10:34:08    1823806

Well I expected as much to be honest, another limp away performance in the league, what's new with that?. We need a smart outside manager with a bit of cuteness to reshape this team, we are going nowhere fast with MOD making the same mistakes over and over again, I wonder does he ever bother doing video analysis of games?. Look at the pool of players that Fermanagh have in comparison to us, it's the equivalent of Navan playing against Ballinlough.... not good enough simple as. If we loose to Cavan, Division 3 beckons again, and if that happens he should be sacked before the championship.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 09/02/2016 11:11:14    1823837

They played seven games in about five weeks and on heavy ground, so even with squad rotation, that might partly account for the poor performance vs. Fermanagh. As others have said, MOD needs to have a medium to longer term plan for the midfield pairing (not a game to game one) and the three week break is his chance to give it more serious attention.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 09/02/2016 11:35:15    1823856

anfearbeag

Cian O'Brien played for Ratoath and wasn't even in the matchday squad. Menton is back playing for Ash,but no idea if he intends coming back to Meath,if not then you have to ask why?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/02/2016 11:44:20    1823863

I wouldn't change too much either,but if the pitches improve in the next few weeks,I would like to see McMahon and E.Wallace start.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/02/2016 11:46:31    1823865

I am in two minds regarding Menton. On the one hand he has been a great servant and could well have been frustrated regarding team selections and being moved around positions on the team by MOD so leaving the panel is understandable. However, the word had been that he had been travelling and it's obvious he is not and he must see that there is a gaping hole in the team that he can fill. In fact if he was up to fitness and in midfield I would have thought that we would have won last weekend and be very comfortable in the division and perhaps push for promotion. The league is just as big a priority this year as the championship this year so, if he was going to play, we really needed him to play in the league.

Question, is Newman the best free taker on the panel? Is there anyone out there in the county that is anyway close to Giles / Stafford were from the dead ball? Based on last weekend we had some passengers in the forwards anyway - would it be worth it to carry someone just for free taking duties like Kevin Heffernan did with Jimmy Keaveney who played with the Dubs into his mid thirties & was deadly from frees?.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 09/02/2016 12:43:00    1823901

why was there a Tyrone man refereing this match. here should be a rule that whatever provinces are palying against each other in this case Leinster and Ulster the ref should be from a neutral province.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 09/02/2016 12:50:27    1823907