Guess The Selectors!!

I for one would love to see Graham as meath manager. People say he hasnt got the experience but what experience had Micko got when he got the job? I think he was very lucky to get the job in the first place.. Graham has captained an All Ireland winning team, my son and his friends think of him as a hero. Their generation would run through a brick wall for him but the dictatorship called the county board would rather take the easy option and settle for another two years of mediocrity with Micko. Its nothing personal he seems like a nice man but the last 3 years have proved he just isn't up to the job. The worst thing about the whole situation is the clubs didnt even get a say, its a sad day for meath football when politics decides the meath manager. It has no place in football.

LongWayBack7 (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 21/08/2015 10:39:27    1773668

JonnieG

If some of you got your wish and he was made manager 3 years ago...we would still be in the same position now, if not worse, and ye would all be looking for someone else again!!

How do you know that?

I'm not championing Geraghty although I would like to see him get a crack at the Meath job someday but to be fair you're asking the lads how do they know and then you come out with a very presumptive statement yourself. Fact of the matter is you never know, none of us can tell the future but we can review the past and sadly MOD has brought us back year on year and he's not the same character as Boylan either so I don't hold much hope that he'll actually learn from his 3 years.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/08/2015 10:47:51    1773676

Micko is far too nice,GG seems smarter in general.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/08/2015 10:57:34    1773689

Also GG saying it was great to be a selector but you have your own ideas..

It may not really matter who the selectors are for MOD,as he will make the calls

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/08/2015 11:00:13    1773692

ziggy obviously the manager will make the calls, that's the reason he's in charge.

It's the same in every club and county, selectors help with the team selection by voicing their opinion but ultimately the manger calls the shots. It's not unique to MOD or meath

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 21/08/2015 11:47:31    1773735

Some of the points JohnnieG made are quite relevant. How does one know how good are any of the proposals (in-house) for manager. Saying one guy is more clever than another means very little. In Kerry all their great footballers managers start at underage level and progress. How many of our county players have done that -very few to none. It appears that everyone likes to get into football management at the top - and that is part of the problem. Some folk post about the format of the senior championship as being a reason for lack of success - what nonsense! I do agree that there are too many teams in the senior championship but it coaching, good management and good refereeing that improves football. In the late 80's early 90's you had the likes of Pat O'Neill /'Paul Kenny and others who provided a conveyor belt of young talent coming thru and because we were winning at senior level everything else became irrelevant with guys being appointed as coaches to our underage county teams some of whom one would not in their correct mind appoint to manage a grade 'E' competition.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/08/2015 12:28:19    1773763

Uncle Fester

I am aware of that,my point is,I'm not sure if any selectors will make a difference or help MOD change..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/08/2015 14:04:33    1773842

First off yeah i can say how good he is personally as i have seen it and worked with him within a club.
So jonnieo absolutely without doubt he brought a very average bunch of players with one or two exceptions to a senior quarter final, if i may say so you know nothing about the club in Westmeath to say wow, cause for this club that was Wow with a capital W , and his reasons for leaving?? Quite simply he was asked to be a selector with Meath his native county and despite numerous offers of concession, he like the true great manager he is stated "if i cannot give 100% then i will be doing you , Meath and myself a disservice"
So jonnieo hope that has cleared that up for you.
By the way if i was asked who should manage my team be it county or club id take GG over mod every day of the week and twice on a Sunday.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/08/2015 15:49:07    1773960

So ziggy thinks that GG should get the job because he is honest and a good mannered chap!!! And a young lad that was on the panel at one stage likes him?? We should sign him up straight away!!! I'm sure there are one or two young rookies of the past that would have a differing opinion there!!
And royaldunne you would be surprised what I know about westmeath football. If you think it is such a big achievement well then you should be on your hands and knees begging Bernard flynn to take the job since he got to a county final last year!!
It is very easy to go and manage "very average" club teams because if you win one match you are a success!! And that's the type of teams he seems to go for!! At least MOD won a county final and got to a leister club and intercounty finals!!
Stop all this nonsense about GG....... Why go down that route again? The fact that he has come out and even said he wants the job at a time when there is a bit of unrest about the current manager shows that he does not have all the qualities required for the job!! And if he had any sense, he would prove himself first by boosting his cv with a good team and win a few cups!! Just because you are a great player does not mean you have what it takes for management!! There are plenty of managers in the county with experience of winning county titles and surely they are a lot better candidates!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 22/08/2015 11:44:13    1774189

Bernard Flynn is managing shamtocks ffs. One of the 3 power houses of Westmeath club games, honestly by that post you seem to know very little about Westmeath, fyi i live and coach underage football in wmeath , mod was assistant manager/player. And by all accounts that was in name only,
GG has proven record, mods record reads worst ever defeat to dubs, first ever defeats to Tyrone +2 Armagh and loosing our 130 year record of never been beat by Westmeath (who were relegated to div3) and let us not forget the 3 unmerciful hammerings to Monaghan. Yeah that's a record to be proud of when your goals are to reach 8 and you cant even achieve that , if that record was in any other county he would be ran out of it.
But sure with blind minnions like yourself we can look forward to another great year under mod.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/08/2015 16:47:53    1774257

The meath manager will likely change in 2 years so let gg and any other manager worth his salt prove their worth over the next 2 years. I hope the county board develop a succession plan now.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 22/08/2015 18:29:52    1774298

Jonnie

I think you should stop your nonsense about GG.

Meath get Jack O'Connor? We have no chance of getting the likes of him..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/08/2015 18:32:59    1774301

what I seen and heard of GG in management I would not let near the county team. full stop.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 22/08/2015 20:17:57    1774348

Royaldunne

What has GG proven record in ??
When has he managed at a high level??
Certainly not Clann na Gael

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 22/08/2015 20:22:08    1774351

Duleej/bellewstown or castleday. Two excellent example of punching way above their weight.
Would you not agree?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/08/2015 21:42:53    1774387

royaldunne DB haven't punched above their weight under GG. There's a few very good footballers in that team he's done nothing of note with them, at least nothing any mediocre club manager couldn't have done.

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 23/08/2015 11:46:31    1774466

There's a lot of talk about Graham Geraghty been made senior manger on this site. How about installing him as our Under 21 manager for the next year. How's this as an idea? Seen that Mick O'Dowd has a two years contract, why not make GG our under 21 manager. Installing GG as our senior manger is the same as what we did with Micko. Both have very little experience of inter county level management. Why do we not do what all other top counties do? Have a succession plan. Look at the 4 teams in the semi final. What do all the mangers have in common? They were all former under 21 managers. Harte, Fitzmaurice, Gavin and Connelly all were U21 manager in their respective counties and three of them won all Irelands at under 21 level. Also lf look at the top counties who they now have as their current under 21 manger will more then likely be their next senior manger. Dessie Farrell ,the current Dublin Under 21 manger will more then likely succeed Galvin in the senior job. Look at the winning managers of all Irelands in the last twenty years. 95% of them managed at U21 Level at inter county level. Jimmy McGuiness, Eamon Fitzmaurice, Jim Galvin, Jack O Connor, Mickey Harte , Paudi O Se and John O Mahoney were all successful under 21 mangers' (All eitheir won or at least reached an under 21 final). So what about a bit of common sense in Meath, have succession plan like all the other top counties have and make Graham Gerahty U21 manager for the next two years. It would give him great experience and if he is successful, he should then get the senior like all the other top counties do.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 23/08/2015 15:31:26    1774565

Doesn't matter who manages the U21's as their preparation is woeful..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/08/2015 17:19:06    1774655

ziggy32001

Doesn't matter who manages the U21's as their preparation is woeful..

And that's the very reason why former county players don't want to get involved in the under age set up in this county..preparation is a dire calamity!

So you cant blame them for going for the top job when you know preparation and organisation is at a far better level..

Plus there is no prestige at under age level when Shite your thanks from the county board !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 23/08/2015 18:05:37    1774717

Why is preparation bad?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 23/08/2015 18:24:41    1774738