Tyrone v Meath

Jaysus that's awful news if it's true ziggy, let's just wait and see but if he has to do it then he has to do it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/07/2015 09:58:18    1753605

Agree Htaem,no doubt to miss him for 2 years has been a disaster too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/07/2015 11:53:06    1753711

maybe he is sick of hearing criticism of his manager on Forums from people who

1. Like the general population dont know what the Managers Job entails

2. Dont know How present Manager deals with these requirements never mind the additional qualities he brings to the role.

3. Dont understand how Dublin (with larger resourses)pulled ahead by realising the advantages of coaching skills and conditioning from a very early age. And Have Done so from year 2000. Meath have improved but are 10 years behind.
Nothing to do with present Manager/Back up /County board.

4. Would know nothing about the huge efforts put in by the manager and his squad. Who could all enjoy significantly greater rewards by putting this effort elsewhere instead of trying to do something for their greater community (Voluntarily)

5. Dont take factors outside Managers control into account. i.e Results are continually distorted by Official decisions,Match Officials attitude/errors, Injuries to key men,and General Luck.

I appreciate that these contributors myself have other things to do and cannot reasonably keep informed of all the detail involved

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 15/07/2015 12:30:29    1753736

Admin - throw up a poll there to see what the verdict is re MOD staying or going. Seems the vast majority on here want him gone but that could still be the vocal minority. (Which could still show up on a poll but would be interesting to see)

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 15/07/2015 12:44:25    1753744

I see that Shane O'Rourke played very well for Simonstown in the league this week. Shane wasn't used on Saturday, I wonder why not. I would have thought that Shane's physical presence would have been an asset as opposed to Joey in this game. Not having a go at Joey as he actually showed better for the ball than previous games but he just seems to have been the go to forward in all games.

trim1 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 15/07/2015 13:11:01    1753772

If that is true about Conor then it is truly shocking and when you add osullivan too, it shows two of the most talented players are lost to injuries. Best wishes to Conor in whatever he decides.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/07/2015 13:20:27    1753779

Ya I hope they are wrong..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/07/2015 15:06:29    1753865

Hopefully not true, very good player with the potential to be great. Don't understand why SOR was not given a run out

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 15/07/2015 20:11:32    1754026

It's obvious too me that ability is not the issue, we have as many too class inter county footballers as any county, and if u disagree just look at Donegal...at least half of there team just carry the ball and fist pass, my point is having 15 footballers isn't a prerequisite too being successful, our problem is solely above the shoulders. We need a manager that will have these lads so mentally tough that firstly there willing too run through the dressing room wall before the door and secondly out on the pitch we are ruthless and never wilt. Put it this way...if say Jimmy mcguinness was our manager, if we lost too Dublin it would have been narrowly and we would be looking forward too a last 12 games against Fermanagh with a realistic chance of all Ireland semi final. This is true lads....There's loads of ability there, we just need a leader. My worry is that county board will never appoint outside county again.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 16/07/2015 09:55:43    1754104

Jaysus ,
Don't get the outside th ecounty debate going again . There are plenty of experienced coaches within the county that could fill the void . The problem here is are they interested . No point anyone , be they the 3 wise men , coming up with a name to fill this role unless the candidates themselves want the role . Co-ersion into a role of this sort is not what's required . What's required is a want attitude , and after that its a "I can do attitude " , leave the excuses outside the door person . Don't go looking for excuses . I was amazed and surprised when MOD brought the fact that a major reason why we haven't progressed this year is because we were missing Conor Gillespie ... A number of months back it was because we were missing , Gillespie , Reilly and Co . What's that about |? . Sure Gillespie could add to the panel if he was fit , as well as match fit , but he's been out for so long now that he could never be right up to speed for this years Championship anyway . And unfortunately the same can be said for other candidates who have been on the panel , but are not playing regularly.
Nowadays at Inter County level , if you are not 100% fit , and have a number of games under your belt , there's no point in sitting on a bench in the hope that your 5 minutes of time would benefit the team .Having 80% fit players on the bench waiting to come in is madness in this day and age. They used to say football was a young mans game, they still do , but the add on is this , Inter-County football is a young 100% fit mans game .Until we get that mentality right we will be in the same boat for a long time . Crying due to injuries is no good at this level . If your inter county team fails due to one persons absence then its not saying much for the state of football in your county .or the state of your panel ...Take note everyone ... And bury the outside Manager Debate now , before some actually does look for one .........

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 16/07/2015 11:58:43    1754197

SouthMeathGael

Without question...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/07/2015 12:44:23    1754242

Chaislean ABU and SouthMeathGael

Ye are both right 100%,you cannot add anymore to that,ye have it in a nutshell..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/07/2015 12:46:16    1754244

Chasleain-ABU Yes fully agree with your comments..The only important point i would add is that there is a great need to analYize the requirements and key skills of the modern day manager .We cannot continue with more of the same approach no matter WHO gets the job. Nobody will be made to measure for the job to day.
I think the policy should be ANALIZE THE JOB REQUIREMENTS ofthe modern day manager....SELECT THE PERSON WHO IS IN TUNE WITH THOSE REQUIREMENTS,AND WHO IS WILLING AND ABLE TO ACCEPT HELP IN SPECIALIST AREAS WHEN REQUIRED. ENSURE THAT STRUCTURED REVIEWS WILL TAKE PLACE AT 6 MONTHLY INTERVALS TO MEASURE PROGRESS AND DEVELOPMENT NEEDS. Think it is fair to say that the game has moved on at considerable pace and MOST coaches in every county have not moved with the game There are the few exceptions of course ,and they will continue to widen the gap. I have absolutely no doubt we can do it with the right approach!!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 16/07/2015 13:18:19    1754283

Yeah its vital to get the right approach now and make the correct appointment this time..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/07/2015 15:56:57    1754443

Impossible to disagree with the above posts, the only thing id add is if McGuinness was available (he isn't and probably will never be again) id do whatever was possible to get him, but that's the type of fellow we need, speak out of turn and you are gone no matter how good you are, because we play to a system we have lads that can easily do your job, get the head right, i said it a million times if you believe in your manager half the battle is won, and if you will go through a brick wall for him you well on way, i actually believe that we have as good as players as 28/30 counties but the heads are not right, mentally they not near what is required these days, and the attitudes are all wrong, and the blame for that lays squarely with management, lets not kid ourselves, they have no motivation and are really going through the motions. He may not be every ones cup of tea but one man that would not only demand and command respect is GG, ive seen it first hand, the absolute devoted mentality of the players under him means they often exceed what their abilities are.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/07/2015 16:33:56    1754473

Situation needs to be sorted now, not in three months time, give the new management plenty of time to assess the players during championship, I have no doubt that Meath have the required players to compete at the highest level. If counties like Fermanagh and Sligo can do it then why not us? Having good individual players (which we have) is vital, but moulding them into a team is just as important. Hoping it is not allowed to drag on, lets see some positive action from C/B and the three wise men.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 16/07/2015 20:08:42    1754598

Who are these qualified coaches chaislain. Every time we are going too appoint the same list of average Joe's crops up including.??

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 16/07/2015 20:50:47    1754620

seadog

But we all know it WILL drag on..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/07/2015 21:40:20    1754652

As things stand MOD will get another year. As for going outside the county to get a manager, who would take it after the abuse Banty got.
Management aside, the following is a quote from Kieran Martin, he's the lad who popped 2-2 against us. It hits the nail on the head for me if you compare it with the current Meath team.
"They (Dublin) go straight for the ball and you can't run by them as easy. They're just so physically strong and mobile. They are probably the number one team in the country."
In footballing ability terms, we have as good as most counties. Nothing that couldn't be fixed up in a year or two with a proper training program and the right man/woman in charge. McGuinness managed it in 2 seasons with Donegal. After 3 years, is MOD that man, not so far anyway!

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 17/07/2015 12:00:39    1754799

Ive read some local media hacks want Mod as manager again in the interests of continuity. Are they right or will this mean more of the same results against the likes of Tyrone, Westmeath, Armagh, Roscommon etc? And then theres the Div 1 opponents including Dublin?
If Pete McGrath has made Fermanagh competitive , why arent Meath after 3 years?. How will Mod make it better next year?
With rumours of experienced players retiring due to injury etc can Meath be expected to be competitive next year?
Continuity can be undesirable too. I think maybe a new man could improve things.

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 17/07/2015 19:40:39    1755097