Meath SFC Leinster Championship Preparations

It must be pointed out however that conditions were atrocious and under normal circumstances, the game probably wouldn't have gone ahead. The pitch was quite small and uneven, particularly at the lake end. It looked very soft and there were puddles clearly visible on it. Not a patch on Stamullen last weekend, that's for sure. A dog ran about the place and did his/her business in front of the Meath dugout before the game. The absence of floodlights became a concern near the end. Advertised as 6.30pm, the ball was only thrown in at 7.10pm. I understand that this was to mark the opening of Dolan Park, but I think the speeches etc. could've been cut short as the rain continually pelted down. Announcing about the passing of Seán Tobin's father and his connections with Cavan football during the first half as a "by the way" while Seán himself was on the pitch was nothing short of disgraceful. Finally, Cavan lived up to the stereotypes in typical fashion by charging €10 for adults and €5 for students even though it was announced that "this is not a fundraiser". A bit steep in my opinion. This event was poorly orgainsed and was quite unfair on both sets of players and supporters. I would read very little into the result.

I was at the match and I would disagree with your mean spirited comments, it was a bad in terms of the weather but your reporting of the announcement is erroneous to say the least. There was a strong connection with the host club
Where was it announced that this was not a fundraiser specifically, pitch openings usually double up as fund raisers that's how things in the gaa work as you should know
I knew before I went to the game that the adm was €10 I didn't realise that I would get a €5 reduction as I am a student
This in my view was a pre championship game where both teams run out their panel, people turn up to see these players and many turned up for the occasion and the speeches as the day was about a deceased member

Did someone from Virginia spill your pint in the past or wink at your girlfriend

Good game in the circumstances nice

Tailteann2015 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 13/05/2015 13:12:14    1723151

Tailteann2015, my comments do appear a little harsh in hindsight. However, my issue with the announcement was it's inappropriate timing, not the content of it. One of the gentlemen speaking before the game announced that "this is not a fundraiser". The pricing structure was a little steep for families with young teenagers. This is all quite trivial anyway in comparison with the state of the playing surface which wasn't up to scratch. The players were in real danger of picking up serious injuries.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 13/05/2015 14:23:13    1723212

More inaccurate than harsh

The people who spoke before the match commended the club for naming the club after a member and not selling the naming rights
They didn't say anything about the occasion itself in terms of fundraising

I felt that the acknowledgement of the players father who wasn't named as playing until throwup was well received based on his local connection

I.felt that the general view was that this was a good occasion and an opportunity to give players a run out the admission was well advertised I thought

Good day despite the rain
It.wasn't a league game or a championship
The Virginians haven't managed to build the rain prevention machine but had they known you were there or if you had announced your arrival they would surely have laid on a blanket or some ear drops at least

Tailteann2015 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 13/05/2015 15:15:45    1723249

Bryan Menton seemed to get injured in the warm up. Looked like a hand injury. Has any one heard if it is serious ?

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 13/05/2015 16:02:01    1723271

I don't think inaccurate would be a suitable choice of word in this context. Obviously I can't speak for Seán, but if I was in the middle of playing a match and an announcement was made about my deceased father, I would feel very aggrieved. The pitch itself was unplayable in my opinion and when this happens, matches are usually postponed. The majority of decent pitches would have been able to handle the volume of rain that fell, but the drainage seemed to be quite poor.

zubzero, yes I noticed that and I'd imagine he was due to start. A couple of his fingers were taped together but hopefully it's not too severe. Likewise with Queeney. Possibly an ankle injury?

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 13/05/2015 16:19:01    1723279

subzero

I hope not(from his club heard nothing yet),he is vital to this team

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/05/2015 18:49:00    1723352

The pitch held up well it had been raining solid for two weeks and constantly on the day
Your earlier comments re our neighbours and stereotypes might be a better yardstick of your issues
You are the only one harping on about this

The simple facts are that the championship team will not be affected by this performance and the championship weather will be quite different

Mick had the good grace to bring the team to a worthy event and you use this to vent your prejudices

Was the pint the Virginia man knocked over on you, all those years ago, half empty or half full, actually I think I know the answer

Tailteann2015 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 13/05/2015 20:45:37    1723389

Tailteann2015, I'm aware of the main principle of staging the match and I respect that but that aside my mere point is that the pitch was unplayable. I don't think any ground with puddles on it is fit to host a Junior B match, not to mention two senior inter-county teams. While it looks like I'm drawing this out, I'm just standing by my views which I think I'm entitled to do.

For what it's worth, I think the championship team will be affected by this. A few players stood out in certain positions for me. Anyway, I look forward to hearing your views on Meath football in the coming weeks and throughout the championship.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 13/05/2015 22:00:48    1723424

You respect that?

You went to a match which was an official opening
You then go on to slag off the hosts, the pitch the prices and the commentary
You bring up an old stereotype and compound your mean spirited out burst by using that in your ill tempered post
So we all have a right to our opinion but as a result of your attendance at a match, that most of the attendees that I spoke to, enjoyed and all of them understood the nature of, you come across as a sore Loser, and with a prejudice against our near neigbours
That's my opinion

There were some good performances and and Mick will have food for thought and that's what this game, from a squad selection point of view, was about.

I'm sure both teams got into the spirit of the occasion unlike some

Tailteann2015 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 14/05/2015 10:09:16    1723466

Tailteann2015 you should not take the whole thing so serious and you should know by now that quite a few posters will most of the time be looking through their tinted glasses when giving an opinion whether it is about a player on, or off, the county panel, or indeed a pitch. About the pitch! it is as good as most of the pitches that we have in our own county, but then again it depends on what glasses one wears. I do know that on that night/evening most pitches would have been unplayable, except of course the sand-based ones. For an opening it is very difficult to postpone a match unlike a normal fixture.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/05/2015 13:30:23    1723629

Tailteann think your been a little harsh there on markmtwords, who is by and large a very accurate poster, while he and i would disagree on some things i have always found him courtesy in his differing opinions, which is what this forum is all about. I wasn't at game, but by the sounds of it the surface was not what would be the minimum expected for a ic team , what if a guy got injured?? , im sorry but i think this auld craic of saying nothing and pretending all is grand is nonsense, call it as it is, if the place is a kip its a kip, don't say its Buckingham palace.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/05/2015 13:55:38    1723636

No issue with criticism of the pitch but he had a go at everything from the prices to the speeches
He used an old stereotype to describe the hosts
The place is a fine set up for a club the pitch was playable

It was a challenge he makes us look petty with his mean spirited comments

Tailteann2015 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 14/05/2015 15:03:09    1723668

I see Mickey Newman was unable to sign autographs at the annual Tayto Park visit.. His hand is obviously in a bad way..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/05/2015 18:05:40    1723757

Ziggy, Yeh apparently he had it well strapped up. Think its his thumb? Hopefully he's well able to do some fitness work it's just the ball work he's missing out on. Thankfully he's not vital against wicklow but match sharpness would be a worry.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 14/05/2015 19:53:51    1723785

I have just seen on Hoganstand that a Wicklow club match was abandoned after a massive brawl if some players are found guilty will suspensions be brought through to county level not sure if some are playing for the county I imagine they are as they are two big club sides ?

RoyalToon (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 14/05/2015 21:01:33    1723802

classapart

ya you are right,he is also one of those players thats needs match sharpness,as he suffering a little dip in confidence imo

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/05/2015 12:30:14    1723937

A club match abandoned in Wicklow? Well I never...
:-)

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 15/05/2015 12:30:43    1723939

TGIF

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 15/05/2015 12:40:33    1723943

any challenge games over the weekend?
injury news/updates

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/05/2015 12:53:35    1725445