Meath v Laois

Brian as i said i take your points and majority of them i agree with completely, the only thing im having trouble with is not beating Derry Monaghan Tyrone etc in div1, we all know 2 of them will be in division 2 next year along with Armagh (we ain't going to beat them based on last years 2 meetings)and Fermanagh along with a team who everyone says we wont beat this Sunday in Roscommon or maybe worse still Galway, so my question is are we preparing for the drop next year?? If we conceded we wont beat Derry Monaghan Armagh,Galway / Roscommon (or perhaps both) that leaving very little room for staying in division 2 next year as it will be dominated by ulster teams add Cavan too, two going down this year will be Kildare and either wmeath or Laois.
So would been relegated to division 3 next year be better than loosing 7 games in division 1? Cause based on some peoples assumption we will get beat in at least 5 games next year in division 2. How is that better? Give me getting relegated from the top any day than another division 3 campaign. So will those saying we not ready for division 1 please tell me the benefits of staying in division 2. That's what i want to know.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/03/2015 09:58:44    1703674

Good points RD
I hope we get promoted, but don't think we will, no signs in recent games. Looked good in first half last week but made wrong choices when Laois tightened up, we still struggle badly with blanket defence. Like to see O Sullivan given another chance this week, he seems to be able to read the game but needs to brush up on his finishing. If and a big if we beat Roscommon then promotion is there for the taking. Promotion could see a major transformation in this team.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 17/03/2015 11:51:10    1703702

Seadog that's it.
For me personally i just don't see any benefit in remaining in division 2, actually its the worst scenario

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/03/2015 14:13:48    1703739

i think we are in a good position to be promoted i think we will beat roscommon i kno are away form not good and last sat we should have killed the game but we are in 2nd place on score difference and a win against roscommon and cavan in our last game could put us through plus down could be already promoted by the time we play them and we could beat them too so lads stop been so negative after next sunday we will kno better where we are after the game i think people think roscommon are better than they are if we got them in the back door in championship would you fancy us to beat them home or away i would

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 17/03/2015 15:27:09    1703753

Roscommon will do to ye what Dublin done to us

mat (Mayo) - Posts: 182 - 17/03/2015 17:36:34    1703803

mat

I think Roscommon will win,but don't think they will hammer us the way Dublin hammered Mayo..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 17/03/2015 18:04:48    1703827

Or what we did to mayo the last times we met them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/03/2015 18:04:55    1703828

Stretching things a bit to compare Rossies with the Dubs

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 17/03/2015 21:37:49    1703951

They gave Menton man of the match in the Meath Chronicle(for some of those who think he didn't do great)

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 18/03/2015 17:47:44    1704236

hi showfont . yes was at game not a great team performance our full back line struggled with the pace of the Dublin forwards like wise at the other end we did not have the pace to trouble there backs .i thought midfield was very good . As u said with the other lads back for the Championship and hope we go well in leinster and with a bit of luck could win it .

Rathcairn (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 18/03/2015 18:10:17    1704243

16/03/2015 18:16:30
brian

we need to realise we're not a top team. We're not top 8 in the country right now and going into division one would be like leading lambs to the slaughter. Whilst it would be good to play at that level and might bring the team on it could also set the team back a couple of years too. Talk of we could beat Mayo, Tyrone, Derry or Monaghan etc is pure bull. We don't have the players to do it right now and when was the last time we beat one of those teams? To stay in Division 1 you'd need to win 3 matches and at present we would not win three matches against any of those teams mentioned or Dublin, Kerry, Donegal or Cork. That's being as honest and realistic as we can be. We could potentially lose all 7 matches.

All this talk of injured players getting back is nonsense. We're claiming Flanagan and Rooney as great players and Menton is doing great at midfield and we want Gillespie too. Who drops out? We want wallace, bray, the o'sullivans reilly tormey, newman… which one of them players works back and takes ball like a paul flynn. Tormey is about the only one (maybe Wallace too) and you need those players in a team. A paul flynn, martin mchugh, donnacha walsh... we don't have one. People need to temper their fantasy team and have some balance.

Good honest posting Brian. TBH i have no doubt Meath with their tradition/history will be back to the level of the mid 90s again once club and underage football improves in Meath.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3354 - 19/03/2015 13:21:30    1704467

brian

You made plenty of good points and I agree with a lot of what you said such as management doesn't appear great at the minute, we don't have top class players anymore, Newman is the man for the frees, POR should stay away from the frees unless it's miles out and he need a score, we would struggle in div1 etc etc

But just to take you up on one or two things, you say "we need to realize we're not a top team" to be fair I think every Meath fan realizes that, we haven't been to an AI final since 2001 and made only 2 semi finals appearances since then, so there's no confusion there.

Talk of we could beat Mayo, Tyrone, Derry or Monaghan etc is pure bull.

This is the one sentence I really disagree with, I mean do you honestly believe we can't beat those teams, even as someone who considers himself a realist more than an optimist I can't understand that attitude, it's completely counterproductive. Players, managers and supporters etc have to believe that they can win no matter who they're playing, it may be over said but it's very true = 'if you don't even believe you can win then why the hell turn up', you're wasting everybody's time.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/03/2015 14:22:53    1704486