Meath v Laois

Very difficult to get a win against Laois. They are strong around the middle and full forward line.Hopefully we can pick up enough breaking ball,and use our runners to full advantage .Also our ability to convert frees will be critical. Our ability to play as committed TEAM players may very well decide it

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 10/03/2015 08:38:42    1701124

seadog

Ya Quigley and O'Loughlin are very good,we need Rooney back there,but we need to win more breaking ball.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 10/03/2015 11:55:19    1701193

Sorry lads I think wallace is too light for intercounty football, One game doesnt make a player, I know he is coming back from injury so is wise to take things slowly, but if you put a tight phyiscal man marker on him I think his game suffers. He depends on his pace to beat a man and cant take him on in the physical stakes. If you look at the last player we had with his type of pace he also had the phyiscal strenght to take a man on. I see that ye dont dissagree with the rest of the points I made though.
09/03/2015 15:35:06

So who was this tight physical marker that made Eamon's game suffer, the las only played in 2013 and j didn't see one then. As for physicality do you not remember how he stood up to a hefty shoulder against Wicklow in Aughrim in 2013 and swung over a point?? What basis are you making these comments on??

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/03/2015 12:23:52    1701220

Richie

If he thinks Eamonn is too light what must he make of a few other players?! I would not call him especially light to be honest.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 10/03/2015 12:35:00    1701229

Just so I'm clear Forglory, you say one game doesn't make a player when someone countered your point that a division 1 defence would "eat Wallace up" with the 2013 Tyrone game. Yet on the other hand you can't seem to back up your point with any evidence at all. Is that correct?

Before his injury, as far as I know, Eamonn scored in all but one of the games he started in for the senior team (the one being the Clones debacle part 2 last year where every player had a stinker). And that's before he was 21. How that lends to being too light for intercounty football when he is still a long way off his peak is beyond me.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 10/03/2015 14:19:34    1701308

ratoath royal your aligence to your club man is admirable. Ziggy i would suggest bryan mcmahon is too light aswell do you remember the game against dublin last year???
I was expressing my opinion that is all, nothing personal. I was trying to be objective and expressed my thoughts on the matter,
I cant wait to be proved wrong but if Im right you wont find me crowing on this website as at the end of the day I just want the best for Meath football

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 10/03/2015 16:32:14    1701399

forglory you're painfully wrong, what makes it worse is I don't think you're trying to wind us up, it's your genuine opinion...

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 10/03/2015 17:31:53    1701422

Forglory

Its not just Ratoath Royal who is disagreeing with you,as far as I can see,nobody has agreed with you.

As for McMahon,you may have a point there,but I don't think he is a starter anyway..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 10/03/2015 17:43:09    1701427

Forglory -you are treading a dangerous path!!. Of course you are entitled to your opinion. Northmeathman made some valid points and he was nearly eaten alive by certain posters from a certain club, some of who think that most of their players are very special talents! -nothing wrong with holding that opinion, but don't expect everyone to agree!. I am more concerned with the football ability /consistancy shown on the field of play rather than the size of the player. You do need some small players as well as bigger ones. Anyway the best of luck to all involved at the weekend.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/03/2015 19:13:41    1701461

Isn't Wallace one of the fastest men in Ireland and able to kick a score? Why wouldn't he be on the team?

He'll enjoy the open space in croker come summertime

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 10/03/2015 19:51:59    1701477

Eamon Wallace is good enough to play for Meath as far as I can see, he had an impressive debut season and was injured all last season so let's just hope he can back on form, his club is irrelevant, let's not go down that silly cul de sac.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/03/2015 20:43:57    1701511

What's the story with Mark Collins? Always thought he looked a good prospect.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 10/03/2015 20:58:00    1701520

Forglory, usually if you're going to give your opinion, you should be prepared to back up that opinion with evidence. Whatever about McMahon, what evidence have you seen that Wallace is too light for intercounty football given that he's scored in all but one game he's started.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 10/03/2015 21:53:03    1701552

Yeah the club thing is irrelevant, is he light? Maybe , but is that a hindrance? Not Imo .
I think a good mix of strong fellas along with light nippy one or two are what every county needs. If i was to have one negative is that on occasion he can snap a shot when composure would have served him better, i was sitting very near graham geraghty on sat night and one of the things you could see was he ain't exactly a tank, but he was and probably still is sold muscle, and one thing i wonder is in this day and age would he have been given a chance, remember what Gooch said!!!!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2015 08:52:02    1701563

As I said at the start lads its just my opinion, When I saw him coming on the pitch on saturday nite he looked very small and light, now I know there are people on this forum who will throw stats and examples at me, fair enough, but I am still entitled to my opinion whether it right or wrong, and getting personal and slagging me off for stating an opinion is both narrow minded and insulting.
Anyway I think we should move on.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 11/03/2015 13:11:18    1701705

Forglory. Id absolutely agree no one should get insulting or personal regarding someone opinion, we can and have all disagree but a level of respect should be afforded to all different views,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2015 15:43:11    1701766

So you're basing your opinion on one game, despite dismissing another's for that exact same reason.
And as far as I can see, not a single person has insulted you at all. Like you, others are entitled to their opinion and my opinion is that you couldn't be more wrong. Unlike you, I've backed my opinion up.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 11/03/2015 16:16:49    1701780

Forglory your opinion is ignorant and stupid.You also have misplaced arrogance in taking affront at people daring to question you after the totally wrong comments you made about guys and actually named them

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 11/03/2015 16:29:47    1701784

Lads I genuinely don't think that forglory is too far wrong Wallace is small and imo also I couldn't see him dealing with any hard tackling backs pace wont always win you games and yes he is exceptionally quick for those who think im questioning his speed im not but could you really see an outcome of us playing the likes of Donegal or cork like realistically we are years or even competing for sam Maguire never mind getting out of this division

hedgecutter (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 11/03/2015 16:48:01    1701796

Forglory you have no clue what your talking about , Eamon Wallace is strong as a bull, his core body strength is at a high level, this comes from his athelics training where they focus in on this in order to give him that explosive power needed in sprinting and don't be so sensitive

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 11/03/2015 16:56:11    1701798