Meath Minors

Well done Martin,good win for ye and good luck in the final.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2015 20:24:14    1743516

Ziggy you are 100% right about player development. If we are putting young u14 players through development programmes we need elite coaches in there who can teach them.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 27/06/2015 20:46:04    1743534

Showforit

Exactly but we are not doing that at all and that is my concern.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2015 21:05:22    1743547

ziggy THE great Sean Boylan as Manager/coach hardly ever played football himself. Hurling yes....but that is a different game entirely. I think that highlights that man management is a key skill,and that includes bringing in expertise when required. Boylan acquired it all in time.Look at the great Golfers for example they all have coaches where some never played the game themselves.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 27/06/2015 21:30:50    1743572

nobull

I think it also helps if kids have coaches of perhaps some ex-players who they could look up too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2015 21:37:17    1743577

The only reason I joined this forum was my concern with juvenile development in the County and I used Roscommon and Tipp as examples of how things could be done.I also expressed a belief that we should adopt the GPO model of putting coaches into schools especially in the larger population areas to feed kids into the clubs but as usual no progress on that front and won't be anytime soon by the looks of things.The are NO proper coaching systems in the County and if we do succeed at Senior level in the near future it'll down luck and not the efforts of the County board.The definition of stupidity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.Hard luck to the players today and best of luck to Longford for rest of the season.

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 27/06/2015 21:40:54    1743580

runnerin

Would you agree with what I have said about the coaching structures?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2015 21:47:08    1743585

Ziggy agreed absolutely !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 27/06/2015 21:47:31    1743586

Sean boylan was dealing with adults, developing kids is completely different. At 14 and 16 they need proper coaching and it helps if they are current players

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 27/06/2015 21:56:16    1743593

ziggy

I think you need people who have played the game to coach as you need that basic understanding of the game.You are also right in that it doesn't cost millions.We seem to be more interested in spending money on Dunganny than the players of the future

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 27/06/2015 22:00:16    1743597

Exactly,what benefit is spending money on Dunganny if we don't have proper coaching structures?

I remember seeing something a while ago about McEntee,Boylan and O'Rourke been involved someway,but what is there job??

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/06/2015 08:14:17    1743599

Seamus Kenny is coaching officer,as far as I know his role is to go round the clubs and educate,but there is nothing he can do if the clubs do not take what he says/does on board.
Perhaps we would be better served getting the likes of Kenny involved with the young development sides.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/06/2015 08:18:51    1743600

I guess I may start and commiserate with the players on this result however the buck has to stop with someone, and I guess its they county board. These guys have being training since last October/November, so what did their programme consist of?A lot of talk hereabout Sean Boylan , but was he not keeping an eye on the training regime? The management had players involved and they weren't even playing with their clubs,(away playing other codes)this happened a few years ago at junior level and we all know the results of that. Let this be a lesson and commence putting the right structures in place for future minor teams , hopefully the county board get out Look at club minor football and maybe a overhaul of it , get right people at the helm of development squads so the feeder line will be in place for the minors in the future. Onwards &upwards from here on .

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 28/06/2015 09:14:08    1743611

Maybe ye need to show Longford minor teams a bit of respect and then ye might get a win. I've lost count how many times I've come into the Meath forum page every time Longford and Meath play in Minor championship and it's the same old story. 'We should win this easy enough' is the pre match general opinion amongst Meath supporters. Afterwards it's 'we shouldn't be losing to the likes of Longford'. Longford GAA have put a lot of effort into the underage structures over the last 15 years and the success of our minor teams and to a lesser extent the U-21's proves that. It's when they hit senior level, emigration is a big problem but also very poor management has a big part to play as very few good underage players make the breakthrough. So lads, a bit of respect wouldn't hurt and then maybe ye might finally get a win over us in Minor.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 28/06/2015 09:48:10    1743622

SPinx

Indeed ye have and thats my point,Meath should be putting in a similar effort!

How do players aged 14-16 get in in terms of coaching in Longford?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/06/2015 10:16:58    1743632

I think some posters need to show a bit of respect to other counties and no one has a 'god given right' to win. Some of the guys who go as county coaches for our underage over the years would not be allowed to coach a Div 7 team. When people speak of SB the seem to forget that a lot of the young players at that time were coached by ex-players and one good example of that was a Louth man who was involved with winning All-Ireland minor and U21 finals (along with others). And! he never got much credit for his input into bring Sam to the county!! Hard luck to the minors and I hope the learn going forward. Having good under age teams is no guarantee for success at senior level but it helps. We are obsessed with county coaching but fail to realise that most of the good coaching is done thru the schools and clubs.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/06/2015 11:39:07    1743680

Again some respect should be payed to us . From being involved with Longford squads the most noticeable thing I've seen is the way some counties treat the development squads . At U14 level in 2011 we suffered horrendous beatings from both Meath and Louth yet at least 8 of a side that conceded 19 goals in a 40 minute blitz game to Louth played yesterday. Another would have played yesterday but for a long term injury. We also lost a player to a cruciate injury in training on Thursday night and lost both our full and center backs to injuries within minutes of each other and still prevailed yesterday. Louth treated that U14 game like an All Ireland final . Again we got a similar beating from 1 of the Meath teams in Dunganny last year, but we always point out to our lads enjoy those games create a bond with your teammates and when it comes to minor level we will be beating those counties. The development squads build on the work of the clubs which is the most important bit . Without the work in the clubs we would be nowhere . Just for comparison we have 7 teams playing 15 a side minor and 7 playing 13 a side . We see our size as a benifit not a hinderence at underage

Therein2010 (Longford) - Posts: 45 - 28/06/2015 12:45:45    1743709

yes Cilles man you are dead right . As i said in my early post they brought in players who were not playing for there clubs and were not as good as the lads that were there .at the start of the year they were playing realy good football . on saturday in Longford we had no brains on the pitch or on the side line when we needed to get scores where wss D.mctee D.lynch B.hoey and banty .infuture the co board must have the right people in place other wise it will be the same in 10 years time .

Rathcairn (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 29/06/2015 09:55:48    1744346

Therein2010
id give longford more respect if we picked a team based on ability more so than who you are or what youre parents are !!

PeterFLynne21 (Longford) - Posts: 39 - 15/07/2015 19:46:44    1754015

Well Kildare hammered Longfors,which makes our defeat more disappointing..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/07/2015 20:47:42    1754037