Intermediate championship 2015

Cillies Man

Well I would have ye as one of the favorites for next year no doubt..

The Lutch

What was the score in the end?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/09/2015 08:51:14    1790472

The lutch was there a big crowd there so.Did Ratoath deserve to win by 6pts.did Joey make a return
How did biggy play.

RogerRabbit (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 22/09/2015 09:53:26    1790497

Great Match by 2 Teams playing top quality football. Neither deserved to lose. It is noteworthy that these players would have benefited from excellent level 2 coaches from a young age because Cilles had Michael Garland and Ratoath had Dermot Rooney /Dermot Reilly. Doing good individual work. In the same period Dublin were putting better development in place.That is where success comes from, and worth acknowledgement. As usual It is funny to see clowns(plural) claiming they trained the lads from the start (with no qualifications or experience) but it is really down to the men who were down every weekend from u/8s up.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 22/09/2015 10:34:04    1790516

Great win for Ratoath last night, Really ground out the victory in the second half . It was touch and go in the first with
Cilles really dominating for first 20 mins with Shane Duffy making a great save to keep us in the match , Ratoath came into it then for last 10 of the first and Eamonn could have nabbed a goal
Biggy and Power had a great Tussle with Power come out on Top , some great Dispossessions from the big guy
Our forwards seem to find their rhythm in the second half and missed some glorious chances
But Cilles always were dangerous and there was only 1 or 2 points in it up until the very end

Only gripe is the ground, Game had to be delayed by 15 mins because of the traffic , The car park at the back was like a Pig Sty
Hard to see the game if you weren't 6 '4. . Pitch looked ok in fairness for the amount of rain that had fallen

Roll on the 4th October!!

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 22/09/2015 10:38:02    1790524

Firstly, fair play to the Duleek volunteers last night. The game was obviously foisted on them and it was pitch black and pouring rain but they did everything possible to get people parked and supplied with team sheets as quickly as possible.

Game itself was greatly affected by the weather. We started poorly and could have conceded two goals early on. But as the half wore on, we got into the game more and could have had two goals ourselves befoe half time. Really upped the game in the second half (as seems to be the norm this season) and the goal was the killer blow for Cilles. Best for us in my view were Duffy in goals, Power and Cian O'Brien.

No matter who wins the final, Cilles will be one of the favourites next season. Definitely the best team we've played this season. I think our players were initially taken aback by them attacking so much in the first half. Would have been interesting to see both teams play in the dry where the ball wasn't a bar of soap. The number 14 caused Conor McGill a good few problems throughout and might be worth a look for the county team.

Pretty sure this will be the club's first ever Intermediate final. They were in intermediate back in the 1970s but never got further than the quarters. So whoever we play will have the advantage of an IFC final experience before them. Can't wait for it.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 22/09/2015 10:45:27    1790533

Ashrules ,

Before you start going off , tell me when the Award 2 started in Leinster , I believe in Leinster as a whole it started last year , but has been in Dublin for 5-7 years , unless Ratoath / St Colmcilles players are younger than 15 years of age your comments on award 2 coaching is pointless . Get your facts right . Both clubs had a massive burst in populations in the early to late 90's , which meant that the children from that influx are now at the stage where they can play for their clubs at adult level , The cream of the crop in both clubs are now playing intermediate , but where have all the other players gone, as both clubs had multiple teams at juvenile level ,where are the guys that didn't cut the mustard. The success is primarily a numbers thing. The larger the sample the higher the likelihood that you will get a suitable quantity of players at adult level, and the higher level players as well .

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 22/09/2015 11:26:23    1790579

Caislean

Read again. LEVEL 2 Coaches were referred to.Men who were developing Gaelic football 20 years ago.
I knew it , they are coming out.
Meath Football was around before you and your buddies found out about it 3 years ago.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 22/09/2015 11:50:15    1790601

Michael Garland , Dermot Rooney /Dermot Reilly well that's great Ashrules now I know who was developing football 20 years ago . If your trying to say something on this forum , don't expect readers to understand your cryptic clues ( though I read it that these guys were award 2 coaches , and that they were the reason why these teams progressed at underage and up to this point) .Anyway what about the rest of the players that were playing alongside the Current teams , where have they all gone .?.. big numbers are hard to beat, look at any County list of title holders , the Urbanised, suburban regions tend to dominate , That's what you get in any county .... Navan O Mahonys , Dunboyne , Dunshaughlin , Walterstown ,Summerhill , population centres . Good coaching is required , however its a lot easier when you have the numbers . Rural clubs succeed sporadically due to the development of exceptional one off players within rural clubs, and the overall team , will to win .Unfortunately for Meath Football this is sporadic , and in a way accounts for the lack of rural representation on our County teams .Not theat coaching in these rural outposts is not up to standard.

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 22/09/2015 12:45:59    1790651

Reading the recent posts on this thread you would wonder whether Nobber and Trim should bother turning up tonight. I know that Ratoath will be justifiable favourites in the final but posters here are basically saying that not only will Ratoath win the final but Colmcilles are the second best team in it and will win it next year.
No mention of the other game at all.

Myself, I think it will be very close this evening and I wouldn't rule out a draw to really put the cat among the pigeons regarding the fixtures.

Let people consider Ratoath in the final, their chances next year in the SFC and Colmcilles chances of winning the IFC next year after tonights game.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 22/09/2015 14:25:25    1790742

The number 14 caused Conor McGill a good few problems throughout and might be worth a look for the county team.

Agree with the first part of above and would amend the last part with insert the words Minor and 2016.
I noticed how small he looked before the start and was told by a Cilles man that their 14 is eligible again for Minor !! next year. He also said they had some injured players unavailable.
He was fast, showed well for the ball and was very willing. Yes he was a worry for the Meath senior and Ratoath full back but if he is only gone 17 then imho senior intercounty is not what is best for him for a while yet. Looks like a good young fella, give him time.
regards the game overall, Cilles missed a number of chances in first half to put them out of sight and ratoath did likewise in the second half before the end. Enjoyable and mostly competitive game in swirling rain on a tight pitch which didnt help shooting and handling accuracy. A big crowd parking in a field was high risk in that weather and access is restrictive despite best efforts of club stewards.

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 22/09/2015 14:33:12    1790749

Who was the number 14 for Cillies?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/09/2015 14:41:26    1790756

he got eatin alive. He did his best but Mc Gill was far superior. He is way too small

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 22/09/2015 15:00:50    1790774

Ziggy32001, to answer you question about our no.14 was a 17 yr old James "Banty "Conlon. He was called in to the minor squad after being dropped earlier.Also corner back was Darragh Brodigan marking Eamon Wallace, these 2 lads are minor again next year.

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 22/09/2015 15:20:49    1790786

Honestly had no idea that Cilles' number 14 was only 17. Wouldn't have suggested him for the senior county team if I'd known that. Must've been the sea of umbrellas I was looking through. While McGill did come to terms with him eventually, he caused a lot of problems in the first half and looks a great prospect for the future.

oldsam_newsam, I haven't seen anyone say anything like what you suggested. I certainly didn't. Whoever wins on Sunday week, be it Ratoath, Nobber or Trim, doesn't negate the fact that St. Colmcilles will be up there with next season's favourites for the IFC. And Ratoath will certainly have to put in a performance to get over the line on the day whoever they have to play. Nobber have all the senior experience in their ranks and have beaten Ratoath on both occasions this season. Trim are an up and coming team, have beaten Ratoath in the league and will no doubt be desperate to avenge the first round championship defeat.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 22/09/2015 16:56:30    1790884

Correct me if I am wrong but is there a bit of slagging off Michael garland and the two Dermots. Garland did a lot of great work in the cilles 10/12 years I know Rooney also did some great work with ratoath. Garland seems to be gone from the scene and his sons switched to syddan but I think Rooney is still involved. Both did stints with devolpment squads and were well regarded but then got the heave ho. Come to think of it stranger things have happened

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 22/09/2015 17:05:48    1790892

Glenn's yes your correct Mick Garland along with Finan Murtagh, Dermot Rooney done a sight of work with development squad and was then giving heave ho for Andy mc.

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 22/09/2015 17:22:19    1790903

Cillies Man

I should have guessed it was Conlon,I have heard a bit about him,how good can he be?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/09/2015 17:33:41    1790914

Good win for Nobber last night , They will be looking for a return to the top rank
They are flying it this year with Dudley back at the helm . . They have an edge over Ratoath now as they
have been in this position before and won and they have already beaten Ratoath this year.
B Farrell has been immense, he has single handedly brought Nobber to the final this year
Alan Farrell is another one who will take some watching. . A very close affair awaits us

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 23/09/2015 11:49:46    1791215

As a Trim supporter let me say well done Nobber, it was a really close game and could well have ended level. Best of luck in the final.

Regarding last nights game Trim had chances to win it in normal time and didnt play the clock the way they should have or fouled out the field when time was up like many teams do. I am very surprised that the report on this site does not reference the incident at the end of extra time when a Trim player going clean through on goals was totally taken out of it with a very dangerous neck high tackle. As it was outside the box it was almost impossible to score a goal from it. Amazingly the referree Cormac Reilly gave no reprimand to the player. In my opinion it was a straight red but it was certainly a black considering the player was taken out deliberately. That is after about 4 Trim players getting blacks, 2 in the most dubious of circumstances.

Anyway, Trim footballers have certainly improved over the season after a bad start. If this improvement continues they will be contenders for the IFC next season.

trim1 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 23/09/2015 12:43:36    1791272

lagore,trim will be kicking themselves this morning,2 points up with a few minutes to go and getting turned over in injury time for drawing point,nobber got out of jail and will give a good account in the final but with ratoath fielding a full team this time it will be a different story.

Ratoath by 5-6 points

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 23/09/2015 12:45:09    1791275