Meath v Kildare

RD: Hopefully is the word. Would expect some positional changes for the match itself. If they line out as listed, I can't see us getting a result.
Anyway, best foot forward and best of luck to both teams. Both sets of players are capable of playing good, hard, entertaining football. Let's hope we get that at least.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 06/02/2015 09:38:32    1690597

Oh dear only one change to the side that played against Galway? Tobin and Burke still corner back? I honestly think management have left themselves very open to criticism...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 06/02/2015 09:52:45    1690603

smallhouses

no perhaps not a pile of changes,but very worrying that positionally the team appears roughly the same..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 06/02/2015 09:54:24    1690604

Well I will wait and see what way they line out before jumping to conclusions. I would imagine there'll be a few switches.

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 06/02/2015 10:18:56    1690621

The easy option would have been for MOD to make changes & be able to turn around after (if it didn't work out) "Well I made changes & it didn't work either...so what do you want me to do?"

He obviously believes in this selection, so they had better repay that faith or they'll be putting their manager in a sticky spot. The players didn't perform last week - you can argue about the odd lad playing out of position (and personally I don't buy that, it's not like we had a Caoimhin King at 14 situation) - but that was no excuse for the performance. Pressure is on the players tomorrow night, we can't keep blaming managers.

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 06/02/2015 10:27:05    1690625

I think we are in big trouble in our FB line.At least MOD has put his faith in the players. Time for them to stand up and repay him.

As an aside, was talking to oone of the players during the week and he seemes very down, no confidence, I think that these results have to affect team morale and it worries me as it seems the fight has gone out of this team.

Hopefully will be proved wrong on saturday night, AN Mhi Abu!

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 06/02/2015 10:50:33    1690640

Htaem, a good manager would play the meath way, in the last few years Meath defenders run out with their heads down hoping and tipping the ball around on their toes only to turn back and give the ball to a corner back who in turn will to the same.
Against Armagh last year this tactic back fired even worse due to armagh taking the ball off the player in wet conditions.

All footballers when in posession should have head up and first option is a player in a better position.
Corner backs should be corner backs and not interested in running up the field.
Menton should be full back.
Paddy O'Rourke should not be taking 45s. What is wrong with free takers in the county.

Small changes make a big difference, watch the meath warm up, it's quiet obvious players will never have head up when playing a game. Watch the Kerry or Dublin warm up, even bloody Armagh, spend 10 minutes kicking the ball 30-40 yards to each other, ball hoping in front.
Top teams give the ball to player in better position, in the last 10 years of watching Meath our forwards will kick their own points when a goal is on or kick from crazy angles when a player in better position.

Graham Reilly also must be a nightmare if your an inside forward, cant think of anytime he has assisted in score for an inside forward, all these things could be corrected in minutes at training.

Mark O'Sullivan strikes me as another ball carrier, playing inter co full forward line is hard enough without lads going on solo runs out the field.
I know I will get attacked for kicking the ball away, but that's not what I'm saying here, kick it to the forwards advantage, early and into space, this is the Meath way.

If you talk to FLynn, O'Rourke, Stafford they will all tell you the best player they had was PJ Gillic as he passed it early and to the forwards advantage, a great skill but with practice most current players can do this, it's down to how they are coached.
Prime example this Sat night, Mickey Burke will handle the ball way more than the majority of our forwards... this is purely wrong and down to how the team play and are coached.

For me Mickey Burke should only be worried about keeping his man scoreless and not be looking for the ball as nothing will come of it ie a score..and if not interested in this then wont be playing
Move the ball fast and forward, even if its handpass but please bring back the Meath style.
Also need a couple of nut jobs on the team, apart from Burke squad looks full of nice lads..again not the Meath way.
Years ago our fowards were feared in terms in terms of physicality and our backs would frighten the devil himself!!

Clubs need to take responsibility for the talent pool, North Meath is shocking at present, historically North Meath was the strongest/traditional football area and contributed hard talented players into all co squads, now we offer nothing with no signs of improvement..

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 06/02/2015 11:01:25    1690646

Decent selection, we still could use a proper 6 so Keogan and Tobin could switch to their more natural positions but sure look, they don't just grow on trees. I don't know what the mood is like in the camp but for all the criticism MOD is receiving (some of it justified) the players really have to up it a gear and show their worth to the manager, the fans and to themselves.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/02/2015 11:24:42    1690654

For me Mickey Burke should only be worried about keeping his man scoreless and not be looking for the ball as nothing will come of it ie a score >> another ridiculous comment. He's perfectly capable on the ball, and kicked a lovely point himself against Dublin. But sure don't let facts get in the way of a good rant.

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 06/02/2015 11:38:56    1690659

Northmeathman

Listen I just think you've made a few over simplistic assumptions, I mean I'm sure MOD has tried to get the likes of G Reilly passing the ball in but that's not what he does. As for lads getting their heads up, that's a given, I would expect that from all inter county players, if they aren't doing it then it's their own fault not the managers.

As for Menton playing fullback, well ok maybe in the absence of Reilly but he's worth more to us out the field if we can find another FB and I don't see a problem with POR taking the 45s once he's nailing them. As for 'the Meath way' it was wonderful when it worked, I grew up watching it winning Meath All-Irelands but no tactic in the world will get us back to winning All-Irelands when we don't have the quality of players to do it, again this is not MOD's fault, he can only work with the material that's available to him.

Now I'm not endorsing MOD, in fact if we have another poor season I think a change may be the right call but I am pointing out what I think he can't really be blamed for.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/02/2015 11:47:37    1690667

Hiteam

Agree with your points!!

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 06/02/2015 12:02:37    1690673

Its now down to the players and their attitude. We can argue all day about positions etc.[We need 2 DONALS but we have only 1]. Positional changes can be made in a flash.Attitude and team spirit is a different story. These players wont like where we are now. They will now HOPEFULLY be fully wound up for one hell of a kickback.MOD will give them the freedom they need for now to give it everything. Sideline will have learned enough to make positional switches as they arise. All concerned know we will give them all the support they need. That will vary from high critisism to standing applause. MOD and players we are totally behind ye.With true spirit and determination of course we can win. Without it not a hope in hell .Dont mind Kildare . WE will take charge of the match from the start because we have to . Talent on its own is not everything. Talent x Commitment and determination and we are in business. Meath to win in true grit style, and prove yet again NEVER write off MEATH!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 06/02/2015 12:19:14    1690681

I agree with most of what Northmeathman has said and would add that the responsibility of every defender (and forward) is to keep their man scoreless. There is no point in guys going up the field like headless chickens and passing the ball backwards. I do think that there are many players who are incapable of passing the ball long and accurate. Finally if I wanted to build a defence I would start at FB and CB. If I had a good defender where would I play him CB or CB - no contest it would be CB so I would play Keoghan there as he has no contest for that position. Looking at the play over a number of years there are very few players on the team who can defend. The best of luck to all involved on Saturday.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/02/2015 12:24:30    1690685

Look we have to put Galway game behind us.
Saturday is a chance for a new beginning. I hope and pray management and players have learned a valuable lesson.
As always i will remain confident. In going for a 2 point win.
Hon the Royal. Promotion promotion promotion. Its all that matters.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/02/2015 13:11:19    1690707

Htaem, u say heads up should be a given, watch Meath tomorrow night,most players have the head down to go on solo run, weirdly this is common in most teams apart from the top ones..
Reilly, Menton, Burke, Harnan, Bray, Mcmahon, Wallaces, majority of them play with head down.

Keogan is only player who does the simple thing right.

Menton is not a half back and never will be, scoring a few pints in the O'Byrne cup and league does not make this right same for Burke as Smallhouse seems to think.

6 backs protect the scoring zone, if they want to score points on a frequent basis then play in the forwards.
For 2 poor teams tomorrow night with 2 poor managers, Kildare have more talent currently but expect it to be tight with Kildare to shade it by 3/4 points.

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 06/02/2015 15:04:14    1690743

Best of luck to the lads tomorrow.I hope they go out in a positive frame of mind and give their all for the jersey.
On a side note I hope none of them read the negativity on this forum.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 06/02/2015 16:17:41    1690781

NMM - to quote you about Burke not looking for the ball "as nothing will come of it ie a score..and if not interested in this then wont be playing"

You are implying that Burke has no ability whatsoever with a comment like that, other than to mark his man. And that if he gets the ball he should just give it to the nearest man to him. That's a very insulting, patronising thing to say. My point about Burke's point was that the guy obviously has more ability than you seem to be giving him credit for - not sure if you saw it but it was a nicely taken point from a tight angle on the wrong side for a right footer.

And I'm really not sure what your problem is with Menton coming up the pitch and kicking points as he's done regularly. Dunno if you've watched much football in the last 20 years, but wing-backs can defend AND also go up and score. The two things aren't mutually exclusive. It's not 1985, the game has evolved...

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 06/02/2015 16:20:56    1690782

Northmeathman, maybe you're right, maybe our lads don't get their heads up as quick or as often as top teams do, I'm not saying you're wrong on that but again who do you blame for that? Personally I blame the players themselves, I'd expect to have to tell children to get their heads up, even teenagers but senior inter county players, certainly not, again that should be a given, if players in Meath aren't looking up then there must be serious issues at underage coaching level.

Menton may not be a half back but then again he's not a fullback or corner back either, now I acknowledge that he can cover fb, but all I'm saying is that he's worth a few points to us further up the field, I'm not necessarily saying that he has to be in the half back line.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/02/2015 16:40:12    1690791

Northmeathman, some of the greatest half backs of the last 20/25 years have moved forward during games to kick points, a couple of examples would include Paul Curran, Philip Jordan and Tonás O'Sé. They were also well able to do the basics of defending well too. There's no reason why Menton can't move forward when the timing is correct during a game to point.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 06/02/2015 17:33:09    1690802

That team as picked unfortunately is not good enough to beat Kildare - simple as

bluegossun (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 06/02/2015 17:36:40    1690804