Player of the Fitzgibbon Cup is Cork's Shane Kingston as TOY named

April 01, 2020

UCC's Shane Kingston celebrates after scoring a goal. ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

Shane Kingston has been named Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Star Hurling Player of the Year 2020 as the Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars 2020 Hurling Team of the Year has been unveiled.

Due to the on-going Covid-19 pandemic, the 2020 Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Awards Ceremony has been cancelled for the time being.

Shane Kingston, a member of Cork’s Senior Hurling team, was named in last year’s GAA Rising Stars Hurling Team of the Year and continued his terrific form in the competition in 2020. The Douglas club man was a consistent threat to opposition teams and scored four great points in the Fitzgibbon Cup Final as he claimed his second Fitzgibbon Cup medal.

This year’s Higher Education Hurling season showcased incredible skill and was a wonderful advertisement for these prestigious competitions with UCC winning back-to-back titles overcoming IT Carlow, whom also contested the final. In the Ryan Cup, Garda College gained promotion to next year’s Fitzgibbon Cup by defeating Ulster University in the decider.

Following the defence of their Fitzgibbon crown, UCC dominate this year’s Team of the Year with no fewer than seven Rising Star representatives. Following their impressive run to the final, IT Carlow have four representatives on this year’s team. Beaten semi-finalists, DCU DÉ and Mary Immaculate College make up the rest of the team with three and two representatives respectively.

Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars 2020 Hurling Team of the Year

Oisin Foley - DCU DÉ, Crossabeg Ballymurn, Wexford

Shane Reck - IT Carlow, Oylegate Glenbrien, Wexford

Robert Downey - UCC, Glen Rovers, Cork

Eanna McBride - Mary Immaculate, J.K Brackens, Tipperary

Paddy O Loughlin - UCC, Kilmallock, Limerick

Conor Burke - DCU DÉ, St. Vincent’s, Dublin

Mark Coleman - UCC, Blarney, Cork

Darragh Fitzgibbon - UCC, Charleville, Cork

Richie Leahy - IT Carlow, Rower Inistioge, Kilkenny

Rory O Connor - DCU DÉ, St. Martin's, Wexford

Shane Conway - UCC, Lixnaw, Kerry

Cathal Dunbar - IT Carlow, Naomh Éanna, Wexford

Chris Nolan - IT Carlow, Mount Leinster Rangers, Carlow

Shane Kingston - UCC, Douglas, Cork

Tim O Mahony - Mary Immaculate, Newtownshandrum, Cork

Most Read Stories