New faces on Referees Panel for Championship 2019

April 25, 2019

Cork's Sam Ryan is shown a black card by referee Ciaran Branagan.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

The GAA’s Referee Development Committee has chosen its panel of referees for this summer’s championships, including some new faces.

A total of 46 referees from around the country have been called up for championship duty.

As with last year, there will be 18 referees on the football championship panel, including newcomers Brendan Cawley from Kildare and James Molloy from Galway, who replace Cormac Reilly (Meath) and Padraig Hughes (Armagh).

In hurling, meanwhile, there will be a panel of 14 referees, who will officiate across the Liam MacCarthy and Joe McDonagh Cup competitions - an increase of four on last year. Tipperary's Johnny Ryan, Antrim's Colum Cunning, Liam Gordon from Galway, Cork's Calthal McAllister, Clare's Rory McGann and Carlow's Patrick Murphy are all added. Diarmuid Kirwan from Cork and James McGrath from Westmeath make way.

An additional 14 referees have been named to take charge of Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Cup matches in hurling.

Referees were chosen following a series of physical fitness and playing rules examinations as well as on their Allianz League performances.

Ciaran Branagan (Down)
Barry Cassidy (Derry)
Brendan Cawley (Kildare)
David Coldrick (Meath)
Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)
Maurice Deegan (Laois)
David Gough (Meath)
Jerome Henry (Mayo)
Sean Hurson (Tyrone)
Fergal Kelly (Longford)
Conor Lane (Cork)
Martin McNally (Monaghan)
Joe McQuillan (Cavan)
James Molloy (Galway)
Noel Mooney (Cavan)
Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)
Anthony Nolan (Wicklow)
Derek O'Mahoney (Tipperary)

Hurling - MacCarthy & McDonagh Cups:
Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)
Colum Cunning (Antrim)
Liam Gordon (Galway)
Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)
John Keenan (Wicklow)
Alan Kelly (Galway)
Colm Lyons (Cork)
Cathal McAllister (Cork)
Rory McGann (Clare)
Patrick Murphy (Carlow)
Johnny Murphy (Limerick)
Paud O'Dwyer (Carlow)
James Owens (Wexford)
Johnny Ryan (Tipperary)

Hurling: Ring/Rackard/Meagher Cups:

Kevin Brady (Louth)
James Clarke (Cavan)
James Connors (Donegal)
Aiden Ferguson (Fermanagh)
Thomas Gleeson (Dublin)
Justin Heffernan (Wexford)
David Hughes (Carlow)
Shane Hynes (Galway)
Gearoid McGrath (Wexford)
Chris Mooney (Dublin)
Mick Murtagh (Westmeath)
Sean Stack (Dublin)
Nathan Wall (Cork)
Thomas Walsh (Waterford)

Most Read Stories