13 different counties represented in Ireland squad for Hurling/Shinty International

October 17, 2018

William Maher while in charge of Tipperary.
INPHO/James Crombie.

Hurlers from 13 different counties have been selected to represent Ireland in the annual Hurling/Shinty International clash, which takes place against Scotland in Inverness this Saturday.

The Irish team, managed by Tipperary’s Willie Maher and Kilkenny’s Conor Phelan, will be heading to the home of Shinty in Bught Park, looking to atone for the three-point defeat suffered last year.

The squad that has been assembled and has been in training in recent weeks is captained by David English from Joe McDonagh Cup champions Carlow.

The Ireland team is backboned by the experienced trio of Waterford defender Noel Connors, Clare defender David McInerney and Tipperary’s Jason Forde who had such a prolific 2018 season for the Premier County.

Westmeath’s influential Tommy Doyle, Laois goalkeeper Enda Rowland and Meath’s Damien Healy are the only survivors from last year’s squad.

International matches between Hurling and Shinty teams have taken place since 1896.

The throw-in at Bught Park is 2pm. An U21 International between the GAA and Camanachd Association will take place a week later in the GAA’s National Games Development Centre in Abbottstown in West Dublin at 2pm.

Ireland Senior Men’s Team 
1. Enda Rowland (Laois) 
2. Brian Byrne (Kildare) 
3. Damian Casey (Tyrone) 
4. John Casey (Longford) 
5. Darragh Clinton (Westmeath) 
6. Noel Connors (Waterford) 
7. Danny Cullen (Donegal) 
8. Tommy Doyle (Westmeath) 
9. Darragh Egerton (Westmeath) 
10. David English (Carlow) CAPTAIN 
11. Jason Forde (Tipperary) 
12. Damien Healy (Meath) 
13. Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo) 
14. Gavin McGowan (Meath) 
15. Dave McInerney (Clare) 
16. Bryan Murphy (Kerry) 
17. John Michael Nolan (Carlow) 
18. Stephen Roche (Waterford) 
19. James Toher (Meath) 
20. Sean Weir (Kerry) 
Team Managers: 

Willie Maher (Tipperary) & Conor Phelan (Kilkenny)

Most Read Stories