Sigerson Cup: Lowry on fire as UCD get up and running

January 23, 2018

Maynooth's Mark Hyland and Luke Fortune of UCD during the opening round of the Sigerson Cup at Maynooth University

UCD are through to the quarter-final stage of the Sigerson Cup after beating NUI Maynooth by 2-15 to 1-6 in Maynooth this afternoon.

Last year's beaten finalists led from start to finish and were able to leave Con O'Callaghan on the bench as they cantered past Johnny Doyle's strong-looking side which included highly-regarded Kildare senior trio Paddy Brophy, Daniel Flynn and Paul Cribbin.

Laois corner forward Eoin Lowry was the star turn on the day for the South Dublin college, helping himself to 1-7, including a goal at the midway stage in the first half as John Divilly's charges led by eleven points at the interval, 1-8 to 0-1.

With three of Dublin's All-Ireland winning U21 team in defence (Cillian O'Shea, Conor Mullally and Eoin Murchan), Mayo's Stephen Coen at centre back, Monaghan's Conor McCarthy (0-4) in mercurial form on the 40, Laois' Evan O'Carroll on the edge of the square and Kerry pair Jack Barry - who netted in the second half - and Barry O'Sullivan at midfield as well as Tipperary seniors James Feehan, Liam Casey and Charlie Manton, UCD are clearly going to take a lot of stopping as they seek a record 34th title.

O'Callaghan's Dublin team-mate Jack McCaffrey is unlikely to feature in the campaign due to injury - but they might not need him!

Kildare boss Cian O'Neill was in attendance to run an eye over the six Lilywhites in the hosts' starting XV but it was Leitrim pair Ryan O'Rourke and Keith Beirne who caught the eye for the losers, registering 1-5 between them including a late Beirne penalty.

UCD - C Manton; L Fortune, C O'Shea, C Mullally; E Murchan, S Coen, J Feehan (0-1); B O'Sullivan, J Barry (1-0); L Casey (0-2), C McCarthy (0-4, 2f), B Byrne; P O'Connor, E O'Carroll (0-1), E Lowry (1-7, 0-5f). Subs: T Hayes for P O'Connor, B O Seanachain for E Murchan, L Moran for E O'Carroll, D Maguire for J Barry.

NUI Maynooth - N Carrie; J Gibbons, M Hyland, E O'Donnell; C Cannon, T Hannafin, J Mooney; P Brophy, P Cribbin; D O Baoill, R O'Rourke (0-3), D Flynn; K Beirne (1-2, 1-0pen), P Fogarty, A Jones. Subs: K O'Callaghan (0-1) for C Cannon, C Dunne for A Jones, S McDonagh for J Gibbons (BC).

Referee - M McNally.

Most Read Stories