HS football team of the week

June 18, 2018

Roscommon's Enda Smith and Shane Walsh of Galway

Sunday's Connacht final was the only game played in the All-Ireland senior football championship this past weekend and here we pick the best 15 performers from Galway's victory over Roscommon.

1. Ruairi Lavelle (Galway)

Lavelle may have saw the only two goals at Hyde Park flash past him but he still gave a solid display for Galway as they triumphed to their 46th JJ Nestor Cup.

2. Declan Kyne (Galway)

Kyne put in a fine performance in Galway's full-back line and came up with a couple of turnovers at crucial moments.

3. Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh (Galway)

Manned his full-back post well for the Tribesmen before going off injured late on when Kevin Walsh's team all but had the title in the bag.

4. Niall McInerney (Roscommon)

Roscommon's best defender in yesterday's final, keeping the deadly threat of Damien Comer quiet up until the late stages at Hyde Park.

5. Fintan Cregg (Roscommon)

Cregg couldn't be faulted in his display yesterday and will again be key in the Rossies' half-back line if they are to advance to the Super 8s.

6. Gareth Bradshaw (Galway)

The Moycullen man earned his third Connacht SFC medal on Sunday off the back of a another fine centre-back display in the maroon jersey.

7. Sean Kelly (Galway)

Put in a fantastic shift at left half-back and also contributed a point along the way to help down the Rossies on their own home turf.

8. Tom Flynn (Galway)

Flynn was immense around the midfield engine room yesterday, particularly in the second-half, and is sure to be one of first names on Kevin Walsh's team-sheet for the opening round of the Super 8s.

9. Tadgh O'Rourke (Roscommon)

O'Rourke got through a mountain of work around the centre at Hyde Park yesterday but, unfortunately for the home side, it ended up all being in vain for Kevin McStay's team.

10. Enda Smith (Roscommon)

One of Roscommon's best performers over the 70 minutes despite not getting on the score-sheet - the Boyle clubman is having an excellent season in the primrose and blue in 2018.

11. Shane Walsh (Galway)

His 0-8 tally earned him the 'Man of the Match' award yesterday and Tribe supporters will be hoping that the Kilkerrin-Clonberne marksman can continue the splendid form deep into the summer.

12. Johnny Heaney (Galway)

Came off with five minutes to go after putting in a big shift all over the park and earned his just reward with another Connacht medal now safely in his back pocket.

13. Diarmuid Murtagh (Roscommon)

Murtagh took it to the Tribesmen early on in the provincial decider and remained their most dangerous threat throughout, finishing with 0-5 to his name.

14. Damien Comer (Galway)

Quiet by his usual high standards but stood up to the plate when it mattered most, boring through for two points at crucial stages late on. 

15. Ian Burke (Galway)

Galway's best player aside from Shane Walsh and they possibly wouldn't have regained the JJ Nestor Cup were it not for the Corofin man's salient contribution.

Most Read Stories