All-Ireland Club SFC: Corofin crush Nemo at Croker

March 17, 2018

Corofin's Jason Leonard fires his shot as Tomas O'Se (Nemo Rangers) closes in during the All-Ireland club SFC final at Croke Park

Corofin were crowned All-Ireland Club champions for a second time in four years at Croke Park today.

In what was a surprisingly one-sided encounter, the Galway and Connacht champions dished out a 2-19 to 0-10 defeat to Nemo Rangers to emulate their Andy Merrigan Cup successes of 1998 and 2015.

Gary Sice and Martin Farragher led the charge for Kevin O'Brien's side, scoring 1-4 and 0-6 respectively.

Michael Farragher also netted a goal for the winners who, despite playing against the wind in the opening period, enjoyed a 10 point cushion at the break - 2-9 to 0-5.

Bidding for an eight All-Ireland title, Nemo Rangers opened their account through a Luke Connolly free but this proved to be a chastening experience for Larry Kavanagh's side.

It was all one-way traffic as Corofin put on an exhibition of football.

Sice's goal arrived in the 7th minute and the men from the west were 1-3 to 0-1 to the good at the end of the first quarter.

Their second goal arrived five minutes later courtesy Michael Farragher and left the scoreboard reading 2-6 to 0-1 in their favour.

The second-half followed a similar pattern after Martin Farragher extended his team's lead with two points.

Try as they might, Nemo struggled to gain a foothold in the contest and the second-half turned out to be merely a damage limitation exercise from their point of view.

Corofin - B Power; C McGrath, K Fitzgerald, C Silke; K Molloy, L Silke, D Wall (0-2); D Burke (0-2), R Steede; G Sice (1-4, 0-2f), M Lundy (0-1), J Leonard (0-1); I Burke (0-2), Martin Farragher (0-6), Michael Farragher (1-1). Subs: C Cunningham for K Molloy, Colin Brady for M Lundy, D McHugh for C Silke, B O'Donovan for J Leonard, C Brady for D Burke, D Canney for Martin Farragher.

Nemo Rangers - M A Martin; K O'Donovan, A O'Reilly, A Cronin; T O Se, S Cronin, K Fulignati; A O'Donovan, J Horgan; B O'Driscoll, P Kerrigan (0-1), C O'Brien; L Connolly (0-6, 4f), P Gumley (0-1), C Dalton. Subs: C Horgan for P Gumley, M Dorgan for J Horgan, J Donovan (0-1) for T O Se, C Kiely for C Dalton, C O'Shea (0-1) for K Fulignati.

Referee - D Gough.

Most Read Stories