O'Neill elected new Laois chairman

December 05, 2017

O'Moore Park Portlaoise

Portlaoise clubman Peter O'Neill was elected as the new Laois county board chairman at last night's convention.

The Offaly native defeated Portarlington's Kieran Leavy to succeed Gerry Kavanagh, who stepped down under the five year-rule.

Initially there were four candidates for the chairperson role but only two let their names go forward as Sean Mortimer (Camross) and Brian Allen (Trumera) withdrew from the race.

Leavy will continue on in the role as assistant treasurer for another term after he was returned unopposed while Kavanagh takes up the central council delegate's position.

Chairperson: Peter O'Neill

Vice-chairperson: Tom Clear

Treasurer: Martin Byrne

Assistant Treasurer: Kieran Leavy

Central Council Delegate: Gerry Kavanagh

Leinster Council Delegates: Tom Jones, Paschal McEvoy

Coaching and Games Officer: Fergal Byron

PRO: Pat O'Sullivan

Development Officer: PJ Kelly

Irish Cultural Officer: Monica Delaney

Most Read Stories