HS hurling team of the week

March 18, 2019

A view of the substitutes' bench before the Allianz HL Division 1 quarter-final clash between Waterford and Clare at Walsh Park. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Dublin, Galway and Waterford booked their league semi-final tickets on Saturday…


1. Mark Fanning (Wexford)

Despite the best efforts of their number one, Wexford made their exit from this year’s Allianz Hurling League at the hands of Galway.

2. Paddy Smyth (Dublin)

Dublin’s defenders stood tall in their morale boosting minimum margin victory over Tipperary in Semple Stadium. 

3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)

O’Donnell refused to yield an inch to the Premier County.

4. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

The corner-back was, arguably, the pick of the Tipperary players on duty against the Dubs.

5. Kevin Moran (Waterford)

Moran and the Deise booked a semi-final showdown with Galway when dispatching Clare by 14 points.

6. Sean Moran (Dublin)

Moran’s aggressive tackling was a highlight of the Sky Blues’ quarter-final success and he also raised five white flags for good measure.

7. Gearoid McInerney (Galway)

McInerney was a tower of strength in the Tribesmen’s half-back line against the Model County.

8. Cathal Mannion (Galway)

The midfielder was very much to the fore in Galway’s second-half comeback and pick pocketed Wexford to the tune of 1-2. 

9. Bill Cooper (Cork)

Cooper and Cork came out on top in their ‘relegation’ play-off against the Cats.

10. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

The former ‘Hurler of the Year’ posed plenty of headaches for Clare and finished with five points to his name at Walsh Park.

11. Joe Canning (Galway)

The ultra consistent Canning was on target with 0-15 for Micheal Donoghue’s men. 

12. Pauric Mahony (Waterford)

Like Gleeson, Mahony caught the eye against the Banner County and also contributed five points to his county’s cause.

13. Conor McDonald (Wexford)

McDonald bagged 2-2 against Galway but Wexford were left empty handed at the end of the 70 minutes.

14. Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

The full-forward took the scoring honours for Paraic Fanning’s side with 0-16 (0-2 from play).

15. Eamonn Dillon (Dublin)

Dillon and Oisin O’Rorke contributed 1-3 and 0-5 respectively to their team’s winning tally.


Most Read Stories