All-Ireland Club JFC final: Croke Park glory for Knocknagree

February 03, 2018

Knocknagree's Fintan O'Connor is tackled by Multyfarnham's Sean Rock

Knocknagree have been crowned All-Ireland Club junior football champions at Croke Park today.

The Cork and Munster champions absorbed a late rally from Multyfarnham of Westmeath to run out 3-13 to 3-9 winners.

First-half goals from Fintan O'Connor and Michael Mahoney laid the foundations for their four-point success and helped establish a 2-7 to 0-5 cushion at the break.

Captain David Wallace pulled a goal back for the Lake County representatives on the three-quarter hour mark but that was cancelled out by the Rebel County side's netminder Patrick Doyle in the 58th minute after his 45 attempt ended up in the Multyfarnham net.

Knocknagree finished with 14 men after full-forward Anthony O'Connor was sent off for two yellow card offences in the 55th minute and Multyfarnham made the most of their numerical advantage.

Substitute Mark Fallon pounced for two stoppage time goals in as many minutes but Louis Ennis' charges ran out of time.

O'Connor top scored for the winners with a return of 1-3 while Max Brady raised six white flags (4 frees) for the losing outfit.

Knocknagree - P Doyle (1-0'45); M Mahoney (1-0), P O'Connor, G O'Connor; D Cooper, K Buckley, K Daly; D Moynihan, P Collins (0-1); J Dennehy (0-1), J F Daly (0-3), E McSweeney (0-2); M Dilworth (0-1), A O'Connor (0-2), F O'Connor (1-3). Subs: S Daly for P O'Connor, A Sheehan for D Cooper, T Long for J Dennehy, T Cooper for P Collins, J Carroll for G O'Connor.

Multyfarnham - H Reilly; S P Heavin, J Greene; T McGivney; R Wallace (0-1), Sean Rock; B McLoughlin, A McGivney; M Reynolds, D Loughrey, C Madden; I McGovern, M Brady (0-6, 4f), D Wallace (1-0). Subs: M Fallon (2-0) for T McGivney, A Loughrey for B McLoughlin, E Feerick (0-1) for M Brady, G Feerick for C Madden, D Kelly for D Loughrey. K Daly (0-1og).

Referee - B Tiernan.

Most Read Stories