HS hurling team of the week

December 04, 2017

Liam Mellows' Adrian Morrissey celebrates after his side's Galway SHC final victory over Gort at Pearse Stadium, Salthill.
©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Here are the players that stood out for us as Cuala and Liam Mellows captured the headlines over the weekend…

1. Sean Brennan (Cuala)

Nipped Kilcormac/Killoughey's hopes of a second-half comeback in the bud when superbly saving Ciaran Slevin's penalty attempt.

2. Paul Walsh (Kanturk)

The Cork intermediate champions secured a 2-17 to 2-8 All-Ireland Club IHC quarter-final victory over Kilburn Gaels in Ruislip on Saturday.

3. Cian O'Callaghan (Cuala)

The Dalkey outfit's full-back and his defensive colleagues restricted their Offaly opponents to 1-5 from play.

4. Sean Morrissey (Liam Mellows)

The tight-marking corner-back and Liam Mellows ripped up the form guide when finishing with three points to spare over Gort.

5. John Sheanon (Cuala)

Collectively, the Cuala half-back line didn't put a foot wrong in O'Moore Park.

6. David Collins (Liam Mellows)

The experienced Collins had the pleasure of lifting the Tom Callanan Cup along with his fellow joint-captain Aonghus Callanan.

7. Sean Moran (Cuala)

The Cuala centre-back proved to be the rock on which many a Kilcormac/Killoughey attack perished.

8. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)

After claiming the scalp of Kilburn Gaels, goal scorer McLoughlin and his Kanturk team-mates will now switch their focus to a semi-final date with Middletown of Armagh.

9. Darragh O'Connell (Cuala)

Along with his midfield partner Jake Malone, O'Connell was a powerful presence under the puck-outs.

10. Colm Cronin (Cuala)

The industrious Cronin and his half-forward line colleague, Colum Sheanon, both contributed three points to the Cuala cause.

11. Adrian Morrissey (Liam Mellows)

Morrissey took the scoring honours with eight points (seven frees) in the Galway decider.

12. Tadhg Haran (Liam Mellows)

Haran pilfered 1-2 against Gort and then turned provider for Conor Kavanagh to score their team's third goal.

13. Seamus Prendergast (Ardmore)

Former Deise star Prendergast helped himself to 2-5 as 12-man Ardmore prevailed against Ballybacon-Grange in the Munster Club JHC decider.

14. Con O'Callaghan (Cuala)

'King Con' rounded off a year he will never forget with 1-2 in the provincial decider.

15. Kevin Kelly (Ballyragget)

When Ballyragget's back was very much against the wall, county man Kelly came up trumps to deny Glenealy of Wicklow.


Most Read Stories